Gen 4- Chapter 13: Saffron Sugar

SSC366

“YES!!!!!!”

Sunny’s face lit up as we made our way out onto the front porch. I had lured him out there with the assumption he was recycling the old papers, but when he opened the door he noticed there were no papers in sight. Only Glaze…

SSC367

and a brand new bike! Glaze had picked it up after work and secretly assembled it in moms sanctuary. Once it was finished, I helped to keep Sunny’s attention while Glazed wheeled it out front.

“What do you think son?”

“Dad its totally cool! I love it!! Just the color I wanted! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!”

{alt}

Sunny wrapped his arms around Glaze and gave him the biggest hug. Probably the biggest hug he had ever given in his life. Unfortunately for Glaze, I missed the whole thing. I was off in my own little world staring off into the distant horizon.

{alt}

Something I had read in Grandma Lacy’s (I know its Great Grandma, but thats a mouthful you know) diary had me completely perplexed. “just look at how they got together”… “just look at how they got together”. The phrase kept playing over and over again in my mind. What did she mean by that? I searched all through her entries looking for any sort of answer, but there was very little about Fairy. So many questions were rolling around in my head. How did he know about Grandpa Peche? He wrote the letter when she was just a baby.

SSC370

Still in a daze, I missed it as my eldest child took off on his bike, with absolutely no training. Probably not the shining moment of my motherly career. Sadly I could not shake the nagging thoughts from my head.

“You’re doing great son!”

“Bye Dad! I will be back later!”

“Not too late you hear!”

“OK!”

{alt}

Once he was out of sight, Glaze made his way back up the porch to where I was still totally out of it.

“That boy is a natural.”

“Hmmm? Oh ya…he’s… good.”

Not quite impressed with my exuberance (or lack there of), he took me by the shoulders and spun me around.

“Ok…Saff what is going on with you? You have been acting weird since you came home from that visit to your Grandmothers. I thought you said you had closure now?”

SSC372

“I thought I did. I mean…well I guess Grandma does. I still have questions. Glaze that letter was so eerie! Yet almost magical. He knew about things. Things that had not even happened yet! After reading it, I would have not been surprised if it had said “Thanks Saffron!” at the bottom.”

“So what are you saying?”

“I think he was like us. Maybe thats where I got it! So many questions left unanswered! Grandma Lacy mentioned something about how he and his wife got together, but never explained in detail what she meant. I wanna know! Maybe I can find someone. Family. I know there were other daughters, I met one once! I don’t think I can leave this alone until I know.”

{alt}

“Well love, if this is something you need to do. Then do it. I have the weekend off, I can take care of the boys. If it is bothering you this much, then I think its best that you take care of it. I know the boys would like you back on this planet sometime soon.”

“I know. I promise once I get the information I need, I will put this all behind me. Thank you love.”

{alt}

So the first step on my journey was finding out the basic information I needed to even locate family. I knew his name was Merlot, but I had no idea what his last name was. I had known it at one time, but for the life of me could not remember. The only one I could even think of having any information like that was Mom. Desperately hoping I was not calling at like 2 am in the morning, I gingerly dialed the phone. Three rings later, I heard the bubbly voice of my mother come on the line.

“Hello Saffron dear! We were just talking about you!”

“Hey Mom! How is ‘The Fry’?”

“Oh its beautiful, Its so nice to come back and visit again.”

“Aww thats great…Hey mom I have a question for you. What was Grandma’s fathers name?”

“You mean Bubbie?”

“No no…her other father. Her biological father.”

“…”

{alt}

“Hello?”

“Oh goodness. Hmmm let me think for a second. Its started with a P. Pen…Peno…Pinot Noir! Yup Merlot Pinot Noir. Man that took some massive memory recall on my part. Why did you need to know?”

“Oh no reason. Just wondering…well I better let you go. I am sure this call is going to cost us both an arm and a leg.”

“Ok dear! Love you! Bye bye! Oh! Daddy says he loves you too!”

“Bye Dad!”

{alt}

Step one completed. Next was to find any information on the family. After a stint at the computer that could have easily put Persimmon’s record to shame, I found out that descendants of Candy Pinot Noir lived not far from Twizzlerbrook. It was only about a thirty minute drive from the house. I jotted down the address and any other information i needed. While Glaze and I were preparing for bed, I told him about my trip.

Bright and early the next morning, I was up and ready to go!

{alt}

While I was doing my hair, a visitor waddled into the bathroom. It was Pineapple and he was looking none to happy at the idea I was going somewhere.

“Mommy go?”

“Yes Sweety, but I will be back real soon.”

“Me go to mommy!”

Aww how could I refuse! “Ok love.” After I was finished with my hair, I  prepared a diaper bag and some toys. Pineapple and I made our way to the front room where Glaze was waiting to say goodbye.

“I guess this one is going with me.”

“Ah i see. You be a good boy kiddo!”

“K Daddeee”

“You drive safe out there, and be home soon. OK?”

“Promise.”

After a small goodbye kiss, Pineapple and I headed to the car. I buckled him into his car seat and off we went.

{alt}

When I pulled up to the Pinot Noir residence, I pulled the paper from my purse and re-read the address just to make sure. Pineapple was completely asleep in the back seat. So I quietly unbuckled my seat belt and got out. In the most quiet voice I could, I started talking to Pineapple, as I tried to gently wake him and get him out of his car seat. “Welp, kiddo this looks like the place.”

We went up the front step and I rang the bell. I could hear a small voice on the other side of the door. “I’ll get it!”
A moment later the door opened and standing in the doorway was a small girl who looked about the same age as Sunny.

“Hi. Can I help you?”

“Hi Sweety is your mommy home?”

“Ya one sec. Mom! Its for you!”

{alt}

After a quick introduction, Freeshiaberry invited me and Pineapple into her home.

“Goodness this is certainly a surprise. I have not heard anyone mention the name Cherry Blossom in years. Is she still…?”

Solemnly I shook my head. “No she passed a few years back.”

“Oh my. I am so sorry.”

“Its quite alright. I did have a reason for coming today. I am trying to learn more information about Merlot. Is there anything that you could tell me about him?”

“Gosh I really don’t know that much, but I will answer any questions that I can. We have a picture of him though! Would you like to see?”

“Yes, I would love to.”

SSC380

Freeshia hopped off the couch and over to the fire place. There were several photos of family and friends all along the mantle.

“Thats him right there.” She said she she pointed to a small pink frame.

I leaned in to examine the photo closer. “Is that…Fairy?”

“Yes.”

“My they sure were a lovely pair.”

“Yes…I have no idea what he was thinking when he…. errr I am sorry that did not come out the right way.”

“Its alright.”

SSC381

“I know you said you did not know much, but is there anything at all you can think of? Do you know how they got together?”

“Oh yes! Everybody knows that one! Its the sweetest story ever!”

As Freeshia regaled me with the most amazing and heartfelt story I had ever heard, I was over come with excitement. It was just like me and Glaze. I was literally beaming from ear to ear. “This is going to sound crazy, but I met my husband the same way.”

“OMB! You are a dream-walker?! You are so lucky! Wow! This is so exciting. No one has had ‘the gift’ in generations. My grandma Candy had it, but we thought she was the last. You are a special girl. I envy you so.”

“A Dream-walker? So thats what we call it?”

“Yes. It is a very special gift. Your dreams are extremely powerful. I heard that Great Grandpa Merlot could see into the future! How cool would that be!?”

“I am not sure I would want that power. Seems like a set up for a lot of pain and heartache.”

“Huh?”

“Never mind.”

SSC382

Pineapple and I spent about half the day at Freeshia’s house, just talking and sharing stories. She told me about Grandma Candy and I told her about Grandma Cherry Blossom.

“Oh I wish I would have had the chance to meet her. She sounds like an amazing lady.”

“She was.” I replied with a smile.

In no time the sun was starting to set and little Pineapple was getting cranky. I wanted to stay longer. It was so interesting learning about the other side of our family. I decided I would have to come back sometime when I could come alone and we could talk again. We hugged goodbye and then we headed back to the car. While I was buckiling Pineapple in, Freeshia called out from the porch.

“You know you can call me any time!”

“I will! Thanks!”

{alt}

The sun had already set by the time Pineapple and I pulled up the drive. I couldn’t wait to get inside and tell Glaze all the cool things I had learned. All the boys were in bed, so I quickly got Pineapple up to his room. He barely even woke up as I transferred him from the car seat to his crib. I kissed them all and then flipped off the light. From there I was off like a shot, down the stairs to tell Glaze.

“Wow Honey thats really neat.”

“eeee I know!”

SSC383

After my exciting day, I was totally zonked. I was even yawning in the middle of my story, and it certainly was not because what I was talking about was boring. Being home with the boys all alone, Glaze was pretty tired as well. So we threw on our pj’s and fell right asleep.

SSC384

Little did I know, that when my head hit the pillow, I was in for another dream. I woke to find myself near the swing at the park where we had our wedding. It looked different though. It was all foggy and cold. Wondering why the heck I was there I called out for Glaze.

“Glaze honey! Is this really necessary. I mean you’re right next to me in the bed.”

“…”

“Hello? Glaze? Are you there?”

{alt}

“Glaze isn’t here.”

{alt}

“Oh Sweet Berry!!” That was not the voice I was expecting to hear and I just about jumped right out of my skin. My heart was pounding in my brain it was beating so fast.

SSC388

“Haha! Take it easy darlin. Its just me.”

“You…really should not sneak up on someone like that you know. I think I felt my heart stop.” I said as I playfully shoved his shoulder. “You look a lot younger than I would have expected.”

“Well if you really want, I could…”

“No no. Thats fine.”

{alt}

“You are probably wondering why I brought you here.”

“Well kinda.”

“I just wanted to thank you. It was a very kind and endearing gesture you did for Cherry and I really do appreciate it greatly. As you have already discovered, you have a very special gift. We have no idea why it happens, but it chooses those who are pure of heart. Berry knows why it chose me! I guess maybe to share it with you. Its funny how the world works.”

“Ya…”

SSC391

“I say thank you, but that’s not even the right words to express how grateful I am about your noble choice.”

He reached his arms out and with out thinking twice I hugged him. It felt so much like a hug from daddy, that I completely surrendered into it. “You’re welcome.”

{alt}

“Now my dear child, no good deed should go unrewarded. So listen carefully. You have a very important task ahead of you. Your decision could change a gentle souls life forever. There are many surprises to come along your journey. Always remember to face them with and open mind and an open heart. Everyone deserves a second chance.”

SSC393

Then suddenly he vanished…

{alt}

“Wait! What does that even mean!” I yelled into the darkness. “You can’t leave now! There is so much I want to know!” I knew full well that my actions were futile and quickly conceded. “Fine! I guess I should just be thankful for the heads up. Though it was pretty vague Grandpa Merlot! Sheeesh.”

{alt}

Running through the message over and over again in my head as I walked, I took a seat on the swing. “I guess I will just wait here until I wake up then!” I did not have to wait for long, in no time at all the irritating beep of my alarm soon filled my ears. *BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP*

—————–

Ok… I promise, no more Magic for a long time. *Sigh*

81 responses

  1. “Glaze honey! Is this really necessary. I mean you’re right next to me in the bed.”
    HAHAHAHA!! ❤

    oh, I'm really curious as to what SEXY grandpa Merlot was talking about.. maybe something Bitters-related? we'll see!

  2. well, you already know my feelings about merlot ❤ so i won't repeat them :p i'm very intersted to see what soul changing event saffron is going to face. i wonder if it has anything to do with the bitters? meh, i'm never good at guessing so i'll just stop lol. very intrigued about what is going to happen next ! 🙂

    • I am so glad you guys all feel that way. As I was typing it up, I was thinking haha! They are gonna get so fed up with this story line! Glad to know it was just my worry wart side shining through.

  3. Oooh, my first thought was that something would happen with Glaze. But the Bitters! Good call. I’ve had a hunch about what’s going to happen with the Bitters since a few chapters back 😉 I’m excited to see it unravel, though.

  4. Aww, I love Merlot! Paging Dr.Yummy, Lol.
    I have a feeling that Saffron’s decision has something to do with Celly and Celly’s marriage, but I’m not sure….
    I could go for hundreds of magic chapters, as long as Merlot’s in them 😉 I love him, always have.
    Fantastic chapter as always, keep up the good work!

  5. Woahhh…AWESOME chapter. This generation is just jam-packed with awesomesauce.
    Pish tosh, dun you worry about the Magic. I LOVE IT.

    I/just/ went to the movie theatre and watched the best movie that revolved around dreams, and I am so intrigued by them now that this chapter was just perfect.

    • the lips tend to fix themselves at YA stage, and if not, just edit the kid in CAS and fix those lips! It seemed to work out fine for Cherry Blossom

  6. Grampa Merlot!! LOL XD!! And then with ‘Everyone deserves a second chance.’ it’s made it all mythical. Is it some kind of prophecy involving the Bitter’s maybies!!

    What a sweet berry chapter 😀 !!

  7. OMB Merlot <3333

    Now that I've gotten that out…what a sweet chapter! I love all the magic in the past few, it's been really awesome. Lol, “Glaze honey! Is this really necessary. I mean you’re right next to me in the bed.”

    I wonder who Merlot is talking about as far as second chances go…?

  8. Ooh! It totally has somthing to do with Celly and that terrible marriage shes gotten herself into!!!!! Loved seeing Merlot agaain 😉

    • Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3 Ambitions\Mods\Packages

      Note: If you have Ambitions you put the Mods/Packages in there. If you have only the Base Game. They go in Sims 3. If you only have WA put them there.

  9. I LOVE IT! You’re making it very hard to pick a favorite chapter! Don’t stop the magic! I love it so much. All of it is so romantic, I wish it was real! You’re an amazing writer darling!

  10. Oh..I want to know a lot more about Merlot! 😀 and how was his relationship with Fairy after they were together in your other story and after he….
    well, I have no wonder about that, he’s such a woman-sim nizer- * “Haha! Take it easy darlin. Its just me.” * ; )
    What he meant by those words? Again, lovely chapter and great writing as well.

  11. Great chapter as always! And please don’t stop the dream magic, those chapters have been my favourites! I LOVED seeing Merlot’s family and those beautiful purple locks again 🙂

    About the Bitters and the Chiffons… well, Olive has already had a child with Peche Jr., so if the two families have babies again that would be inbreeding in my head… or maybe that’s just me. Come to think of it, I have read another legacy where the same thing happened, and it is one of the best I have ever read, so I guess it doesn’t matter very much.

  12. :O:O:OOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVED THIS CHAPTER!!! I love how she got to meet the other part of her family and how she got to find out what a dreamwalker is and how she got to see Merlot and all the magic and the special words he told her and and and…. I love this chapter 😀 Heehee Great Job! And I don’t mind the magic 😉 But I do wonder what he meant….o.O Can’t wait for the next chapter! 😀

  13. I can’t wait to find out what the heck is gonna happen in the next chapter!! I wonder if Celly had a kid or two with her husband, and now some “certain” child is gonna befriend a Bitters child, or something to that effect? 😛 can’t wait! hope I didn’t just spoil something xD

  14. Pingback: Gen 4- Chapter 13: Saffron Sugar (via Splash of Color) | SimsLuver4ever Storys

  15. i like the idea of saff learning little things about the future here and there needless to say i love the magic. great chapter totally addicted. keep it up berry

  16. I’ve had a rare moment of epiphany and I went to the Berry Sweet Site thread and noticed that the next colour in the order is GREEN!!!! Sound familiar, anyone? Hmm, what family do we know that is notoriously green?

  17. Off-topic: I miss Orange Blossom. She’s the unsung hero of Glaze and Saff’s relationship, plus somehow she could see them in the dreams. OMB EPIPHANY MOMENT!!!! I DON’T THINK MERLOT’S GUIDANCE WAS BITTERS-RELATED!!!! IT’S ORANGE!! IT HAS TO BE!!!!!! Wow 2 epiphanies in 1 day I’m on a roll!

  18. I know this will sound really corny Berry, for which I apologize but “OMB MERLOT!?!?!?!”
    I really love this whole chapter, I think Saff’s chapter is the one that has me on the biggest roller coaster ride of emotions, so far. But I love it so much. :DD
    P.s. Merlot is sooooo hot 🙂

  19. Reading this chapter gave me shivers! It’s so strange rereading when you know what’s going to happen. I feel like I’m in on Merlot’s secrets! His smiley, vague, cryptic secrets…whatta guy! 😛

Leave a Reply

