Gen 6- Chapter 14 Part 2: Olivine Bloom

{alt}

A lot of people ask me. “What is like to be blind?” Well…the answer to that is probably just as complicated if I were ask someone what it was like see? Its just my life. It is all I have ever known. There are many ways to “see” other than your eyes, but when you have sight, well… you tend to rely too heavily on what you can see. This is also why sighted peoples tend to see us “vision impaired” as a handicap. They think about what it would be like if they were blind and automatically assume this is how it is. Well I can assure you it is not.

We are more than capable of taking care of ourselves. Dressing ourselves, feeding ourselves and so on. This is not to say it is easy, and does not take lots of practice, but I am a firm believer that anything you can do, I can do too.

This is why it is so frustrating to have such loving parents that feel they need to smother me. I know they just worry, but what they don’t understand is I am more than ready to learn to take care of myself.

{alt}

At some point you have to take matters into your own hands. My parents and our balcony is a perfect example of this. From the time we moved in, it was locked and no one was ever allowed to step foot onto it. Mother and father included. It may seem like a small restriction, but when you live your life in basically 4 small rooms, things can get a little…boring.

I don’t know if it was my stubborn streak, or my desire to push myself to become stronger and more self sufficient…well what ever it was, it didn’t take me long to learn how to get out there. This was not an easy task let me tell you.

First you have to make sure that the parentals are asleep. This step is crucial! If they were to ever find out, you would be deader than you would be if ya accidentally slipped off the side of the building. Listen through the door see if you can hear them snoring. Mom and Dad both have a distinct breathing pattern which in a case like this comes in really handy.

{alt}

Sounds good. Onto step two.

{alt}

Carefully and quietly go down the stairs. Counting each step until you hit twelve. Knowing your steps is also very important. I couldn’t even tell you how many times I had gone up and down those stairs, just to get the feel of them. I could actually get to the bottom faster than my mom. Oh yes I have mad Skills!

But for the sake of her heart, I always take them nice and slow when she would be watching. She worries way too much about me. Even to this day!

{alt}

Ah the next step is probably the most tricky. Finding the key. The reason this part is so tricky, is the key seems to change places from time to time. Unfortunately for them, they are not very good at hiding things. If you can’t hide something effectively from a blind girl, you…are really not good at hiding things! πŸ˜„ Again an advantage in my court.

Once you locate the key make your way to the door.

{alt}

Carefully and quietly unlock it. Leave the key on the table nearest the door, its way too risky to take it outside.

{alt}

Once the door is open, that is when the fun begins.

The cool air rushed across my feet and it felt like freedom! It was Liberating and exhilarating. A feeling like I had never felt before. I found the cool metal fencing and followed it out all the way out. The air whizzed through my hair and I could feel my heart beating wildly with excitement.

{alt}
{alt}

So many amazing sounds. Cars rushing by, horns blaring, car stereos pounding. It was intoxicating. Everything felt alive! I wanted nothing more than to be a part of the world, like a normal teenager was. I wanted to make friends, meet a boy, maybe have my first kiss. None of this was ever gonna happen in the sheltered life I led.

{alt}
{alt}

But how do you make someone believe that you are ready to do things on your own, when they still view you as a helpless child? This was my dilemma. I had to find a way, to get through to them. I had tried once before when I was younger, maybe this time it would stick.

{alt}

I was officially on a mission. I was going to go to a public high school.

{alt}

And this time I would not give in so easily.

51 responses

  1. Great chapter berry! I hope that she can convince her parents this time! I know they are trying to protect her and, as a parent, I get that – but she’s capable and they just need to see it πŸ˜€

    And she’s so pretty!

  2. Man that girl grew up to be BEAUTIFUL! but of course all Chiffon women are beautiful. Its in the genes lol! and Livvy just needs to let the girl fly, im sure she can make it on her own in a public school. LOVED the update berry!

  3. Lol, Mir is such a reb-dog! πŸ˜„ Mebbe she’ll learn to use echo-location eventually (people do that! i saw it on this tv special…)
    *is very excited*
    Can’t wait to see the high school…
    I have a feeling the next gen is going to be veeery interesting…

  4. I cannot wait to see how she copes with public school! And Olivine is so cute being all protective of her, I suppose it’s only understandable πŸ™‚
    Wonderful chapter, as usual!! ❀

  5. I officially love Mir ❀ She is so strong willed and determined and has all the qualities we have come to love in the Chiffons but with her own 'view' on life. She is going to lead us through life a very different way and I can't wait to go with her!

  6. I love how she counts her steps! I reckon every blind person does it but it reminds me of that girl in Red Dragon.

    ahhh.. this is going to blow tops off~ I just know so!

  7. Naww, Miracle is awesome. I would probably be the same as Livy, though, and fret a lot..
    Sad that they had to move to Briocheport, especially as Mir is a teen now. Can you imagine a blind girl going to a normal, public school in Briocheport? =O MAKE HER GOTO A SPECIAL SCHOOL! Haha.

    Love it. Shall be waiting impatiently for more, while playing Sugar Valley. Lol.
    ❀

  8. If her parents have any sense they will listen to her. She is a growing girl with normal everyday feels and being treated like this will only make her explode as she is now a teenager. When she makes friends the good ones would let her be herself as well as protect her. They really need to let go her go for her sake and theirs. πŸ™‚

  9. I love her determination! I hope they let her go to school.

    Loved the shot of her on her tiptoes on the balcony…Livi would probably faint if she saw that!!

    Great chapter, as always!

  10. Miracle is amazing. I love the way you explore the blind story line – its so detailed and exact making a positive, not a negative. Also, Miracle has grown into a real beauty – everything about this chapter is beautiful! Love it! x

  11. I’m really happy that Miracle doesn’t view her blindness as a roadblock in her life. I’m sure with a little persuading, she’ll be at a public school in no time! πŸ™‚ Great chapter Berry! Although, I do have to say I’m going to miss Livvy and Cello, no matter how sad her gen. was!

  12. Oh my goodness! What a great chapter πŸ™‚ Haha, she’s turning out to be the rebel that her mother was πŸ˜‰ I can’t wait until the next chapter! Mir’s POV is very interesting, it’ll be fun when it’s officially Gen. 7!
    By the way, I’m sorry to bother you because I’m sure you’re plenty busy as it is, but do you think you could direct me to a Sugar Valley download link? You don’t have to, but it sure wuold be appreciated!
    Thanks!!

  13. Anyone who can plan her escapes to the balcony will have not trouble getting herself into public school, that will be a piece of cake. Miracle is not only beautiful, but she is cleaver and just down right amazing!! I love how she has grown to be so strong, in spite of the fact that her mom and dad are so over protective…. Miracle you go girl!!!!

  14. I hope that she can convince them to let her to go to school and I hope that when she gets there that the kids at school dont only think of her as the blind girl 😦 she has alot to overcome but I think this gen will be lots of fun!

  15. aw, miracle is such a cutie pie. i love that she sneaks out onto the balcony at night. i’m really excited for this generation. i can’t wait to see what kind of things miracle will discover when (or if) she gets to attend public school. πŸ™‚

  16. she’s so pretty and strong. It’s a shame they neve tried for another to maybe take soo much of their overparenting focus off her and give him a bit more freedom but then I guess that had such a long ordeal in conceiving her that perhaps they just can’t have another.

    Hmm be interesting to see if she gets her plan! or if Ovline will run into Tiber all these years later!

  17. I love Tranquil! She really is a special girl with a strong will.(And her hair is GORGEOUS :D) She reminds me a lot of Toph from Avatar, who is also one of the most awesome cartoon characters I have ever seen, but I hope Olivine and Cello will be much more supportive than Toph’s parents were.

    GREAT chapter as always! πŸ˜€

  18. I can safely say I love Tranquil a WHOLE load of a lot better than Olivine. Also, I saw this coming from Livi.. ;D she was a wild somewhat carefree teenager, so she’s going to try to protect her daughter against that. When actually, she’s doing more harm than good. You shelter and smother your children, and they will rebel.

    I also love the fact that she is blind. That adds so much more dimension. I thought Saffron was my favorite heir, but there may be some new competition. ;D

  19. I love your legacy. I have one question. Is her name Tranquil or Miracle? It shows up as both in the story, so I’m a little confused. I thought she was named Tranquil, but her mom keeps calling her Miracle.

  20. I love Tranquil! <333 I saw the first photo in this chapter and I was like "OMB it's mini Olivine with blue hair!" haha…
    Also, Merlot (1st gen, sort of) met Fairy in his dreams, and that's how Saffron (4th gen) met Glaze. Is the dream-walker thing by any chance something that goes to every third generation? Or could it be? If so, Tranquil (7th gen) would have it too!

  21. Oh, I love her, she is so clever, It’s nice that she sees the advantages of being blind and not the one disadvantage. Im happy that she is stubborn about getting what she wants, I would be too. Love the chapter as per usual Berry!

Leave a Reply

