Gen 8- Chapter 14: Waterlily Whip

“Where do you suppose it comes from?”

“Honestly? I have no idea.”

Little Wisteria had always had trouble with her hair. From the time she was born, it had pretty much refused to grow. Seance’s hair started to come in immediately. Little tuft of blue balanced ever so gently on top of his head, only stretching out, bigger and wider, with the coming months. Wisteria, was bald. Bald as bald could be for months. I started to fear it would never grow in. Then suddenly it did. The tiniest bit of fuzz. It was so fine and fair, it was hard to tell at first, but then… there was no denying it. The hair on her head was white as snow.

We were already in confusion over her deep purple eyes, but now, we were a little more than confused.

Well does it come from your side of the family?” Disco inquired. I started to answer when my mind picked up on the almost accusatory tone. My mouth opened and then shut again almost immediately.

“What is that supposed to mean?”

“Well…no one on my side of the family has white hair, or purple eyes, and if no one on your side has it. Well, it has to come from somewhere right?” His inference was unmistakable now. I was in so much shock, I just stood there. A stupid smile resting on my face. Oh but it wasn’t a happy a smile. More of a “are you fudgin kidding me” smile.

“Please tell me, you are not implying what I think you are implying.” I growled. “Do you honestly believe I went out and found me a purple eye’d, white haired guy, to oh I don’t know, have a little fun with?!”

“Well, no. I don’t know. I don’t think you would, but where does it come from?”

“I don’t know!! But if you hadn’t noticed, those look an awful like your freckles and complexion on both of them.” My voice started to raise, and immediately tried to tone it down. Though my voice, was lower my anger was boiling over to a point, I could barely see straight. I picked up Wisteria, and swiftly whisked her away to her crib.

Still fuming, I did the same with Seance.

“Babe, I didn’t mean it to come out like that. I was just coming up with some ideas.”

“Ideas that involve me cheating.” I called back through door as it slammed behind me.

“No! I didn’t mean. Okay, well maybe, I did, but you are right. They definitely have my skin tone. Unless.”

“You say what I think you are going to say, and your butt is on the couch.”

“You’re right. I’m going to shut up now.”

“I think that would be best.”

We did not say another word to each other the rest of the night. I grumbled around the room, slamming laundry in the basket. “Stupid if he thinks… the nerve…. I just….OHHHHH!” While Disco watched sheepishly from the bed. Finally after about an hour he slunk off to the house to get some food and watch some TV. I took the open opportunity to turn in and go to sleep, so I didn’t end up killing my husband for being so…. argh!! By the time he came back, I was well off to dreamland. Lucky for him.

The next morning, I started immediately researching, any possibilities. Maybe there was a strange albino type anomaly, that caused white hair and purple eyes. To no surprise, there was nothing of the sort. I searched through all kinds of genetic type articles and they really weren’t much help.

The only lead I ever came across, was an old portrait. One of the oldest in the house. The elderly woman who must have been my grandmother six times removed or some ridiculous thing, had white hair, and so did, one of her daughters, but that just couldn’t possibly be. Could those genes still be in there? Generations later, was it even possible? I was just about to head back to my trusty computer to find out, when there was a knock at the door.

“Just a minute!!”

After opening the door and noticing there was a mailman on the other side, I realized it was not only a mail man, but a mail man with a massive grin stretched so tight across his face, you have thought I was Santa and my front door was the portal to the north poll.

“Yes?” I smiled, trying half as hard to match his odd excited expression.

“Are you – Waterlily Whip Chiffon?”

“Yes?”

“Oh! This is so cool! You have NO idea how long I have waited for this day.” He giggled exuberantly pulling a large manila envelope from his sack. “This is for you.”

I gingerly received the letter. Instead of leaving like most postal workers, the man continued to gawk. The same expression on his face the entire time. Not sure what was more strange, I turned my attention to the large envelope. My eyes tracked back and forth over the odd writing on the front.
To: Miss Waterlily Chiffon to be delivered. Huh. It had today’s date. I looked at the man still standing on my step. “Is there something else I can help you with?”

“No Ma’am.”

“Alright…”

I started to examine the envelope again. “Wait. How can this be? This was post marked.” I read it several times to be sure my math was up to date. “Over 200 years ago.”

“Yes Ma’am. It’s been sitting in the bosses office, waiting for this day. You have no idea. I had to fight half the carriers to deliver it to you.”

I just stood there, awestruck. What could I say. It was obvious it was for me, but how could someone know to send me something so far into the future.

“Are you going to open it?”

“Later.”

“Oh. Of course. It is yours of course.”

“It is. Good day Sir.”

“Good day Waterlily.”

I settled in at the kitchen table with the envelope and bowl of cereal. I wasn’t sure if I was ready to open it. What if it was a trick? What if it was booby trapped. I stared at it for several moments. Just like I did with spam email. Even knowing full well, I wasn’t going to get a virus, I remained cautious for some odd reason. Finally curiosity got the best of me, and opened the 200 year old seal. A folder slid out on to the table.

Opening the folder I found a couple of old photographs clipped to the inside. One of man and one of woman with a little girl. There was also a stack of papers, probably about four, that were folded into fourths and an additional note with a giant PLEASE READ ME FIRST written on it’s back. Not being a complete dimwit, I read the letter first.

Dearest Waterlily, 

I know after reading this you are going to have a lot more questions, that unfortunately I cannot answer. But lets start with the ones I can. Lets start with you. You don’t know me, but I certainly do know you, your family is quite special to me, and that is the exact reason why I am writing to you. You have questions about your daughter, and her out of place colorings. Your poor husband, does not really think you did anything that foolish, he is just as confused as you are, so don’t go to hard on him okay?

I had to pause and laugh while taking a good look around the room, this letter was too wild for words. I continued on.

She definitely belongs to both of you. I think an easier way to understand it all, is if you knew the whole story. One that very much involves you and all of your ancestors. You will find in the folder a stack of papers, that looked as if they were ripped from their book, that is because they were. Your grandmother, lets say grandmother, because if we went into how many greats we would be here all night. Your grandmother tore these pages from her journal, with the intention of destroying them, but she wanted me to read them first. Once I had read them,I just couldn’t allow her to dispose of them. They meant too much, so I pleaded with her to let me keep them. After promising, I would not let them fall into the wrong hands, she finally agreed. Go ahead and read them now, and I will see you on the other side.

Again I looked around the room for a candie camera or something, but there was no one there except me and my cereal bowl. I opened the journal pages and read on.

“The following events are true. So true that I was ashamed to write them down your pages my dearest friend. A truth that should that should never see the light of day nor should it be uttered in the darkest of rooms. A secret that only one other soul beside my own would ever know.”

I wasn’t sure what I was expecting to happen that night. I foolishly rolled out of bed and with out even trying to find proper clothing(in fear of waking my sleeping husband) I slipped into the darkness and down the walk. Heading strait for…”forbidden territory”.

Only the cold that wrapped around my legs and feet kept me tethered to reality. If had not been for them, I would have sworn it was all dream. Still wrapped in the comfort of my blankets, still safe and still…faithful.

It wasn’t until I actually stepped onto the grounds of the Pinot Noir estate that the ramifications of what my actions could bring started tumbling down upon me. I was risking everything to see him. If I were caught, it had the possobility of ruining it all. Everything that he and I had been so desperately trying to put back together.

Two marriages, two families…broken by two irrational hearts.

Fear ran through my veins. What was I doing? And how was I ever expecting to see him. I couldn’t just go up and knock on the door, or even throw stones at his window. I shook my head with embarrassment. I was beginning to wonder who actually had the control. Was it my brain or my heart? And more importantly who was right?

My heart was the one who hoisted me out of my bed that night. My heart was the one crying and saying it wasn’t fair, the foolhardy creature who got me into this mess in the first place.

My head ever vigilant and always full of reason. Telling me not to go, perhaps I should have listened. Sadly it was too late for that now.

But just like a prayer that is answered before your very eyes.


He was there.

I felt like the proverbial dear caught in the headlights. I was frozen where I stood. My heart beating so loud and hard I was sure I would wake the whole neighborhood. All I could do was stare up into those beautiful dark purple eyes. Those eyes that I saw everyday on the face of my…our daughter. Sadness building inside me with every passing second.

I was finally able to mouth the words “I’m sorry.” and he in turn motioned for the front door.

I ran across the cold wet grass till my equally foolish bare feet and I were standing on his porch. The door clicked and soon he was there, just inches from me. Taking my hands in his own, he lead me around to the side of the house. Out of view from the world, just like everything else between us had been.

“Lace? What are you doing here?” He whispered.

I didn’t have an answer. I didn’t even have a voice. My face was hot and I could feel the tears beginning to roll down my face. I tried wiping them away but it was useless. I opened my mouth to try and speak, but when nothing came out I closed it again biting my lip.

Turning away I was able to finally say at least a glimmer of what was going on in my head.

“I had to see you. I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have come. It was stupid. I’m stupid.”

“Lace you’re not stupid. Please don’t say that.”

“Please don’t cry.”

“I can’t help it.”

“This is the way it has to be. You know that.”

“I do.”

“Or at least my head does, but its my heart. My heart keeps calling your name. I know it shouldn’t but it does. I don’t feel the same without you.”

“Lace please. Stop.”

“I wish I could, but I can’t. Every-time I see her, every-time I hold her, I am reminded of you. Its a burden I can hardly bare. All I dream about is us being a family. Being able to be with you, hold you, say I love you, without the fear of persecution, and I don’t know how to make it stop. What am I supposed to do.”

“I don’t know…”

“OMB. Of course. What was I thinking. I was a fool for coming here. You don’t… Well why would you. You have a beautiful wife you don’t need me. I was right I shouldn’t of come.”

“Please Lace. For all of us just don’t.” His voice started to crack as he pleaded. I was so lost in my emotions, I was nothing but confused.

“I’m sorry.”

“No. I am the one who is sorry. It wasn’t supposed to be this way. It was never meant to be this way.”

“What wasn’t?”

“I wish I could tell you, but I can’t.”

“I don’t understand.”

*sigh* “I wasn’t supposed to fall in love. I had love. I had the girl of my dreams! Literally… But then you walked in and threw everything upside down. You don’t think I love you, but I do. More than I should. I love you more than anything else in this world, but it shouldn’t be that way. I have a wife and children, I should love them, and I do, but you… I can’t get you out of my head. Every moment when I wake, you are there. The feelings of my longing almost as heavy as the guilt. I go through my day wanting nothing more then to touch your face.”

I just stood there in shock. I felt my heart squeeze so hard I could scarcely breathe. He was right, hearing it was only making it worse. The tears started come harder and faster and then he threw his arms around me.

“Oh Berry I love you Lace.” He cried into my shoulder. I had never seen him cry before. The painful sobs were making it even harder for me to stand. I held him close, pulling him in, giving myself fully and completely into the embrace. If only we could have stayed there forever.

“Lets run away together.”

“No. We can’t. You can’t do that. You have a family and beautiful daughter to take care of. A husband who loves and needs you.”

“I know. But all of it is meaningless without you. Sometimes I wish none of this had ever happened. It would have been best if you and I had never-”

*Mphhhhh*

“Please don’t ever say that. Don’t even feel it, or think it. I regret nothing. Every moment with you I will forever treasure. It was you all along. I have broken so many hearts in my wake, I guess it was high time for it to happen to me in return, but even so I wouldn’t trade any of it, if that involved not ever getting to be near you. You are so special, I only wish you could see it.”

“Oh Merlot.”

“Shhhhh. Its OK. Things are gonna be OK. You are going to have a wonderful life. Beautiful children, even more beautiful grandchildren. You are destined for great things, and I will be here forever loving you. I have already given you my heart and soul, please don’t ask me for more. I have nothing else to give.”

We stayed there shrouded in darkness for only a few moments more, before we both had to return to our own lives, but before we went our separate ways, we vowed to one another under the dying twilight our eternal love. A secret he and I would take to our graves, never telling a soul.

“I’ll never forget you.”

“I couldn’t if I tried.”

I set the pages down. A part of my heart sunk after reading it. How could a letter about people I didn’t even know hit so deeply? As instructed returned to the original letter.

I know this may seem like just a sob story, but it is very important for what I am about to tell you. The love those two shared transcended all boundaries, and even though they could not be together for reasons out of their control, their loved never died. A love that now lives on in your daughter. You have been given a very special gift, Miss Whip. She is kindhearted and loving, and she will grow to feel things deeper and stronger than you could ever possibly imagine. Take good care of her. She will need your unconditional love and undying support. She will grow to be a great woman one day, but I can tell you now, your snarky attitude will not work on her, so try your best behave?

In all seriousness though, please take special care. I know you two will be fine. Just never forget to listen.

I can’t say much more, so I will end this here. Have a wonderful day darlin. Oh! and you should talk to your mom more often, she knows more than you think she does.

Much love

-M

Once I had finished the letter, it finally all sunk just how creepy and ominous it all was. How could this M from years and years and more years ago, know so much about my life. I pushed from the table and looked around again sweeping the room for answers. Of course there were none, so I did the first thing I could think of.

I ran to hold my daughter. I had no idea if half they things in the letter were true, but if they were, I wasn about to let down on my end of the deal. I scooped her and held her so tightly. “Momma loves you sweetheart.”

She wasn’t talking yet, but she let out a squeal, that I could have sworn indicated you knew exactly what I was saying.

I had always considered her my gift, but maybe she was even more special than even I could comprehend. I looked deep into her purple eyes, wishing desperately she could talk and tell just what she had seen. I knew she wasn’t going to get me the answers I needed, but maybe…

just maybe, there was someone that could.

————————-

I know most of you have read Lace and Lo already, but this is where it fits into the story, so bear with it. Thanks!! ❤

76 responses

  1. I am constantly amazed by your writing, and this, well this just as incredible and amazing, if not more so. The way you bring everything together… it’s just amazing.

    I’m somewhat speechless now.

  2. I haven’t read Lace and Lo yet (I’ll make sure I do it this weekend) but I have a feeling I know where this is all going 😉
    At first I thought Wisteria was albino… he he…
    BTW I ❤ the expression on Disco's face in the 4th photo!! He's adorable 🙂

  3. I havent commented in a bit, often quiet you have so many fans and we all love you but after reading this I just couldnt not… ❤ MUCH!!!! So happy Waterlily didnt die, cant wait to see what happens next chapter and YEAH for Lace and Merlots finally having another moment in splash! Agian Goddess of Splash you have me all a flutter!

  4. Aww that was so sweet. The longing of Lacelot always makes me sad. Little Wisteria is a pretty little berry. Can’t wait to see all of the things you have in store for little miss.

  5. This was absolutely amazing, I love that you’re bringing Lace and Merlot back into the story and little Wisteria is just adorable, I can’t wait to hear from her. I hope she becomes the legacy holder for generation 9 😀

  6. Loving it!! I knew that hair came from someone special. Lace’s hair Merlot’s eyes cool…

    I two love the picture of Disco, OMB thought I was going to laugh my butt off, It was a good thing he shut up when he did however.

    What a shock for Lily when she got the letter, but I’m sure Miracle can help her out by filling in some details.
    And holly macaroni, this keeps getting better.

  7. Oh goodness gracious….Lacelot. <3333

    I never thought they could return to the story in such a significant way, other than a passing photograph in an old photo album, but holy tostios, Berry, you made it amazing! My hand was actually trembling from it all.

    And now we have an actual chapter to go with the machinima you made with this exact moment! Clever move there, I see. 😉

    Now I REALLY can't wait till the next chapter…ugh, how I hate waiting. XD

    • This story is literally Lacelot to the core. So for people who don’t know why they are rated so highly in my book. Well they are pretty much what make this story tick. n.n Glad you are loving it. There’s a while lot a surprises up my sleeves even still!!

  8. ❤ Lacelot… ahhh<3<3<3

    and Seance, the cutest toddler I have ever seen! I love him! But I'm kinda sad because I feel like all the stuff with Wisteria is going to single her out more and we won't get as much of Seance's adorableness.. but I'm sure your story will continue to be fantastic anyway! Loved this chapter<3<3

  9. ok just so everyone knows when the heir vote comes up if berry even has one i think we should all vote for westria lol just saying! and Berry as ever you did amazing. i love how the post carrier was so excited to see what it was lol. and how Merlot has surprised even me with how much he knew about the future. can’t wait for more!

  10. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep!!! I am just LOVING Wisteria Lace. ❤ Tranquil DID name her and we know why– because she's a DREAMER! Oh goodness. *sniff* I know I've read the Lacelot story before, but I just HAD to read it again. Their story is too sweet not to read over and over and over. Seance is a cutie! And Wisteria is adorable. Oh, I just love Splash so much!!!!

  11. Oh the webs you weave! Their love is the glue that holds splash together. I am more than anxious to see what masterful things you have in store for Wisteria and her siblings.

  12. I can honestly say you made me cry. AGAIN! But this was a good crying.
    Love the story, I can not wait to read what you have planned for Wisteria. I’m sure her story will be amazing.
    Keep up the wonderful writing.

  13. OMB!!!!! It’s from Lips of an Angel video!! 😀 OMBERRY!!! I LOVE THIS <33333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333

  14. THROWBACK GENES!!!!! :D:D:D The twins are so cute and their colours look great 🙂 I also LOVE the way you put the Lacelot puff into the story(the 200-year-old letter made me think of Back to the Future III by the way xD), but…

    WHY DID YOU END IT THERE!!! I want to know what Tranquil has to say!!!! D’:
    Oh well, great chapter anyways 🙂

  15. Whaa… Wow! Loved it!! I can’t wait for the next chapter now again *stubborn face*. I always knew Mira was magic 😉 (lol Magical Mira… haha :D)

  16. Wisteria Lace – the ultimate Lacelot child. ADORABLE. I love how you’ve pulled all this together, it’s brilliant.
    And you know.. you could do an heir vote for fun. Wisty would still win by a mile. SO GORGEOUSSS. the eyes!!! <333
    and goodness, the beginning was brilliant. Poor Disco. dig dig dig 😉

  17. Wisteria is probably the cutest toddler I have ever seen. And the letter from “M” makes me think she’s going to be extremely fun and interesting once she grows up.
    If we get to vote for the next heir, she’s my pick!! ♥ Keep up the wonderful work, Berry!

  18. This was just so beautiful.

    Each generation I seem to think “this will be my favourite heir” and then you do it again the next time a baby is born. Now, Wisteria will much likely grow to be my favourite character. All that history, compressed in a little baby’s body.

  19. Pingback: Today In the World of Sims Stories 10.8.11 « todayintheworldofsimsstories

Leave a Reply

