Prologue – Part 3

Merlot: Was that?

Chantilly Lace: My mother!

Merlot: Oh…

Chantilly Lace: You gotta hide! Quick in my closet!

Chantilly Lace: Don’t move.

Merlot: Kay…

Vanilla: Lacey, sweetie? Are you all right? I thought I heard voices.

Chantilly Lace: I’m fine. I was… reading.

Vanilla: It’s very late. You should be in bed.

Chantilly Lace: I couldn’t sleep.

Vanilla: But you haven’t even gotten into your pajamas?

*small rustling*

Chantilly Lace: *fake tears* Well, I’m very tired now! Please go so I can sleep!

Vanilla: I’m so sorry, love. I wish there was some other way.

Chanitlly Lace: *sniff* *sniff* *wibble*

Vanilla: I’ll leave now.

Chantilly Lace: *fake weeping continues*

Vanilla: Sleep sweet, my darling.

Chantilly Lace: She’s gone now.

Merlot: She seems nice.

Chantilly Lace: She is, but that isn’t the problem.

Merlot: I should probably go.

Chantilly Lace: Please stay. I don’t think I could explain how lonely it is here.

Merlot: I guess I could stay for a while. You know, if your mother doesn’t mind. 

Chantilly Lace: She’s most certainly taken her sleeping pills now. She will be out till morning.

Merlot: *chuckle*

Chantilly Lace: What?

Merlot: The way you talk. It’s so proper and adorable. “Most certainly.”

Chantilly Lace: *giggle* My mother is a tad old fashioned. I guess it shows. Would you care to take a seat, sir?

Merlot: Thank you m’lady. I’d like that very much.

Merlot: If you don’t mind me asking. What’s with the warden?

Chantilly Lace: She’s very protective.

Merlot: I gathered that.

Chantilly Lace: It’s kind of sad. I don’t want to bum you out.

Merlot: Lay it on me, lil darlin.

Chantilly Lace: *giggle* You are such a charmer.

Merlot: It gets me in trouble.

Chantilly Lace: *gasp* No. Not you.

Chantilly Lace: Okay, but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Merlot: It’s okay. I’m ready.

Chantilly Lace: *sigh* When I was little girl, I lost my father in a terrible accident. My mother never really recovered from his loss. 

Merlot: I’m so sorry.

Chantilly Lace: It was a long time ago now. I was only three, but I guess you never get over that sort of thing. Not really.

Chantilly Lace: The ocean is a dangerous place… according to my mother.

Merlot: Is that where it happened?

Chantilly Lace: I’d gotten too close to the water’s edge and a nasty undertow pulled me in. Daddy swam out after me, but as we came to shore, the unthinkable happened. He was dragged under and we aren’t even sure how, but he hit his head. Everyone was so focused on me, they hadn’t noticed. By then it was too late.

Merlot:

Chantilly Lace: Now my mother is terrified of everything. She’s afraid she’ll lose me too. So here we stay, in our protective bubble. *half-hearted laugh* I told you it was depressing.

Merlot: It’s not that.

Chantilly Lace: Then what’s with the look?

Merlot: It’s just so weird how similar our childhoods are.

Chantilly Lace: You lost your father too?

Merlot: My mother.

Chantilly Lace: Oh, I’m so sorry.

Merlot: Just like you, it was long time ago. I don’t talk about it much.

Chantilly Lace: You don’t have to… if you don’t want to.

Merlot: We never had much money. Lived in the swamps of Twizzlerbrook with my great grandmother. Not the safest place for a kid, I guess. One night I escaped out the front door and when my mother went out looking for me… well she never came back. They found her in the waters the next morning. I was found later that day, but no one knew where I came from. It took years to track down any family. My great grandmother had long passed by then.

Merlot: Before that, I bounced around the foster system till coming to a home in Sugar Valley. I lived there until an aunt of mine was discovered here in Fondant Fields. She adopted me and life was good, but it’s not the same. Not really. Well, you know what I mean.

Chanitlly Lace: Yes.

Merlot: I’m sorry. I wasn’t expecting that to happen.

Chantilly Lace: Please don’t apologize.

Merlot: *laughs* I never cry.

Chantilly Lace: Never?

Merlot: Sensitivity is not my strong suit, but an hour with you and here I am blubbering like a child.

Chantilly Lace: It’s okay to cry.

Merlot: Not with my reputation.

Chantilly Lace: What do you mean?

Merlot: High school hierarchy. 

Chantilly Lace: Oh, I don’t know what that is.

Merlot: It’s honestly the most superficial thing you can imagine.

Chantilly Lace: That doesn’t seem like you at all.

Merlot: This… now… not many have seen this side of me. Not even my best friend, Turq.

Chantilly Lace: What makes me so special?

Merlot: I’ve been sittin’ here tryin’ to figure that out.

Merlot: Usually this would be a line, but you seem so familiar to me. Your voice, your laugh, it’s like I’ve known you my whole life. Silly I know.

Chantilly Lace: No, I feel it too.

Merlot: Completely impossible, yet everything about you…

Chantilly Lace: Maybe we knew each other in a different lifetime. *giggle*

Merlot: I guess if you believe in that sort of thing.

Chantilly Lace: You don’t?

Merlot: No, but I might have to change my way of thinking.

Chantilly Lace: What did you mean, usually this would be a line?

Merlot: Huh? Oh nothing.

Chantilly Lace: No, tell me. I wanna know.

Merlot: Well, it’s just… *cough* Usually when I’m with a girl, I’m different.

Chantilly Lace: Different?

Merlot: Yeah, you know, like I tend to smooth talk them. Berry, this is super awkward when you say it out loud.

Chantilly Lace: Smooth talker? You don’t seem that smooth to me.

Merlot: That’s because you’ve got me stumblin’ over my words.

Chantilly Lace: Do I make you nervous?!

Merlot: Little bit, yeah.

 

Leave a Reply

