Prologue – Part 6

Chantilly Lace: Didn’t think I would see you again.

Merlot: You did invite me back?

Chantilly Lace: Yes, but I thought for sure you’d forget me.

Merlot: You kiddin’? I couldn’t if I tried.

Chantilly Lace: Sure is a nice night.

Merlot: Yeah.

Chantilly Lace: I um…

Merlot: *cough*

Chantilly Lace: Oh gosh, this is so awkward. Why wasn’t it awkward before?

Merlot: Not sure. Guess nerves are getting the better of us.

Chantilly Lace: I’ll admit, I’m not much a conversationalist. Not much practice…

Merlot: I don’t have that excuse.

Chantilly Lace: *giggle* Lucky you.

Chantilly Lace: So what’s high school like? Is it as lively as books make it out to be? It must be very exciting to be surrounded by so many peers.

Merlot: It’s all right. School ain’t my favorite place.

Chantilly Lace: Oh I see. What do you like to do?

Merlot: I’m kind of a home body. Not as much as you, but if I had a choice, I’d be home vegging out.

Chantilly Lace: Vegging out?

Merlot: Watchin TV.

Chantilly Lace: Oh. We don’t have one of those.

Merlot: So you’ve never watched TV?

Chantilly Lace: No. Mother says it rots your brain.

Merlot: Well, she may not be wrong. 

Merlot: What about you?

Chantilly Lace: I paint.

Merlot: That’s right. I think I saw one of your projects the night I… broke in.

Chantilly Lace: Yes.

Merlot: It must be nice. I don’t have a creative bone in my body.

Chantilly Lace: I’m sure that’s not true.

Merlot: I’m better at breaking things.

Chantilly Lace: Can I ask you something else about school?

Merlot: You can ask me anything.

Chantilly Lace: Have you ever gone to prom?

Merlot: A few times.

Chantilly Lace: A few?! You must be a good dancer.

Merlot: I’m okay.

Chantilly Lace: Could you teach me?

Merlot: To dance? Sure.

Merlot: There’s not much to it. You just move your move feet and rock your hips a bit. It’s easier with music.

Chantilly Lace: Oh, I’m sorry. I meant slow dancing.

Merlot: Slow dancing?

Chantilly Lace: Mhmm.

Merlot: Sure, okay, that’s pretty easy too, but you gotta come a little closer.

Chantilly Lace: Yes, of course.

Merlot: Most school dances are pretty casual. Even prom, I mean, sure you’re in a tux or a nice dress, but the dancing is not very… fancy.

Chantilly Lace: Okay.

Merlot: So you put your hands there, and I put mine here.

Chantilly Lace: Like this?

Merlot: Yeah.

Chantilly Lace: And then what?

Merlot: You just sway with the music.

Chantilly Lace: I wish we had some. 

Merlot:  *hums softly*

Merlot: ♫ It was you, you and me, two hearts drawn together bound by destiny  ♫

Merlot:  ♫ It was you, and you for me, every road leads to your door, every step I take forever more ♫  

Merlot: ♫ Just say you’ll- mphhhhhh

Leave a Reply

