Prologue – Part 11

Victoria: Don’t mess this one up.

Merlot: I’m doing everything I can to keep that from happening.

Victoria: That was uncalled for, I’m sorry. Sometimes my father…

Merlot: It’s okay, Vic. You’re right. I have a terrible track record.

Chantilly Lace: So what did I miss.

Merlot: We were just talking about-

Victoria: My father! He will be up for parole again soon. Don’t see him getting it, but that doesn’t stop him from trying. 

Chantilly Lace: That must be hard, being so fractured from your father.

Victoria: He’s not a good guy. Never was. Believe me, I’m much happier with him locked away… *awkward laugh*

*Silence*


*Even More Silence*

Merlot: We should probably get going. This one might turn into a pumpkin if we don’t get her home before sunrise.

Chantilly Lace: Yes, it is getting rather late.

Victoria: Understandable. Please come back and visit anytime.

Merlot: That went better than expected.

Chantilly Lace:

Merlot: All the time I wasted. I’m so glad you talked me into it. Thank you.

Chantilly Lace:

Merlot: Lace? You okay?

Chantilly Lace: I don’t want to go home yet.

Merlot: Oh… we don’t have to. Still got some time. Where would you like to go?

Chantilly Lace: Anywhere.

Merlot: I think I know a place.

Chantilly Lace: How on sweet earth did you find this place?

Merlot: Would you believe, I used dream about this place?

Chantilly Lace: Really? How magical.

Merlot: Victoria and I found it one night. Guessing it used to be an old cathedral, way out in the middle of nowhere. Not much left of it now, but someone has created this amazing place and hidden it away.

Chantilly Lace: It’s peaceful.

Merlot: Yeah.

Merlot: I have to confess, I brought you here for a reason.

Chantilly Lace: Oh?

Merlot: When I was a kid, I used to dream about this place almost every night, but I was never alone. There was a girl about my age and she seemed so real. I knew one day, we would meet *laughs* fall madly in love, and live happily ever after. I swore it was our destiny.

Chantilly Lace: You think she’s really out there? Waiting for you?

Merlot: I don’t think so. It was a fantasy. Made up by a lonely mind, but that’s not why I’m telling you this. I’m telling you this, because, well, the girl from my dream, she was what I always wanted, and you, you are what I need. 

Chantilly Lace: I am?

Merlot: My life before you was empty. Your friendship means more to me than anything else in this world.

Chantilly Lace: What about Turq?

Merlot: Turq’s an idiot.

Chantilly Lace: *giggle*

Merlot: What I’m trying to say is, I’m really glad you walked into my life… or I guess I’m glad I walked into yours.

Chantilly Lace: I’m glad you walked into my life too.

Merlot: Lace?

Chantilly Lace: Yeah?

Merlot: Can I be your boy?

Chantilly Lace: Get over here, you cheese ball.  

Merlot: So that’s a yes?

Chantilly Lace: Of course that’s a yes!

Merlot: There’s that look again. Lace, talk to me.

Chantilly Lace: Tasting freedom has only made things harder on me. I feel more trapped than I did before. I don’t want to go back but what choice do I have?

Merlot: One day, we’ll leave together. I’ll get a good job and we can find a little place. You can paint and-

Chantilly Lace: It’s what I’ll have to do in the meantime that saddens me.

Merlot: I’ll come see you whenever I can.

Chantilly Lace: We should probably go back now…

 

Leave a Reply

