Prologue – Part 12

Chantilly Lace: I’m gonna stay right here.

Merlot: Lace…

Merlot: We’ll figure this out.

Chantilly Lace: Yeah. 

Merlot: You just gotta hang in there.

Chantilly Lace: I know.

Merlot: Tomorrow night? 

Chantilly Lace: It won’t come soon enough.

Merlot: Good night, Lace.

Chantilly Lace: Good night. Merlot.

Vanilla: You and I need to talk…

Vanilla: How long has this been going on?

Chantilly Lace: Huh?

Vanilla: Sneaking out?

Chantilly Lace: I wasn’t! I was in backyard watching the stars.

Vanilla: Don’t play dumb with me! I saw him, Lacey. Now, how long has this been going on?

Chantilly Lace: A few days…

Vanilla: Well it ends now.

Chantilly Lace: No.

Vanilla: Don’t argue with me. You know the rules and you will obey them or suffer the consequences.

Chantilly Lace: What else can you possibly do to me? I’m already a prisoner.

Vanilla: I’m not talking about you.

Chantilly Lace: Huh?

Vanilla: End it, or I will.

Chantilly Lace: What are you going to do to him?

Vanilla: That’s none of your concern, but it will be if you refuse to tell him it’s over.

Chantilly Lace: Please mother, don’t do this.

Vanilla: You are the one breaking the rules. This is not my doing. 

Chantilly Lace: Then I’m leaving.

Vanilla: Just try it. I’ve changed your lock. It only unlocks from the outside now, so if you ever want to step outside your room again, you’ll do as I say. 

Chantilly Lace: Please don’t do this to us.

Vanilla: Us?!  There is no us, Lacey! You hardly know this boy!

Chantilly Lace: I know that I love him.

Vanilla: Foolish girl. Boys his age only want one thing. 

Chantilly Lace: Not him. It’s different.

Vanilla: Sure it is.

(Door Clicks)

Leave a Reply

