Prologue – Part 16

Everything in our world was perfect…

But how long can perfection truly last…

Merlot: I’m taking you out today.

Lace: Oh? Where are we off to?

Merlot: Don’t say no yet.

Lace: Oh…

Merlot: I promise, you’ll never have to leave the beach. You just gotta trust me. It will be beautiful and fun and we’ll be just far enough away that you can appreciate the waves without feeling a drop of water. Please?! I swear I have a good reason.

Lace: It better be a VERY good reason.

Merlot: It is.

Lace: Okay, but just this once. 

Merlot: I swear it. Just this once.

Merlot: How’s the burger, darlin?

Lace: Delicious! I bet it would taste even better at our dining table.

Merlot: I’m sure it would, but you gotta admit, this isn’t so bad. Is it?

Lace: No, it’s kinda nice actually.

Merlot: How about a photo?

Chantilly Lace: Good idea, remember this day, because it is never happening again.

Merlot: Okay… so the real reason  I brought you out here.

Chantilly Lace: I knew you were up to something.

Merlot: Lace, standing next to the ocean, I know you’re scared, but by coming here, you’ve conquered that fear. If you can do it, so can I.

Chantilly Lace: Merlot? Are you doing, what I think you’re doing?

Merlot: From the moment we met, I knew there was something special about you, and even though I know I probably scared you half to death.

Chantilly Lace: *giggle*

Merlot: Breaking into your house is one of the greatest things to ever happen to me. You make me feel things, and do things that I can hardly comprehend. It feels like I have known you forever, even though it has been only a few short years. This is probably the corniest thing I have ever said, but you have shown me a side of myself that I never knew existed. I don’t think it would, if it weren’t for you. I love you, Lace. With every shred of my heart.

Merlot: So would you permit this man, to take your hand, just so he knows you will be with him always?

Chantilly Lace: Yes, yes, yes!

Merlot: I brought some aged nectar. Care to join me for a glass?

Chantilly Lace: I’ve never had nectar before. Maybe I shouldn’t.

Merlot: Just a glass. You’ll love it, trust me.

Several glasses later…

Chantilly Lace: I dedicate thish one to you, ocean! Ya big shalty gal! WHY CAN’T WE BE FRIENDS! WHY CAN’T WE BE FRIENDS! WHY CAN’T WE BE FRIEEEEENDS!!!

Merlot: Hahahaha!!

Chantilly Lace: I love you. I love you! I love you! I love you!

Merlot: Hahaha! I love you too, darlin, but I think you might have had a little too much of the nectar.

Chantilly Lace: What?! More like not enough! A yum yum yum!

Merlot: Yup definitely too much…

Chantilly Lace: You know, you are shilly!” You are perfect and you don’t even know it.

Merlot: I am not perfect. 

Chantilly Lace: Oh yes you are! You make me feel things too! Things that I never thought I’d feel.

Merlot: Oh yeah? Like what?

Chantilly Lace: Like… you make me not afraid anymore! I could run into the ocean right now, and wouldn’t be scared!!

Merlot: Huh?

Merlot: Lace, come back!

\

Merlot: Lacey? Baby? Are you alright? Lace? Wake up?

Chantilly Lace: Definitely… too… much nectar.

Merlot: Are you alright? Do you need to go to the hospital?

Chantilly Lace: No. I’m fine, I just… need… to catch my breath.

Merlot: Don’t you ever do that again!

Chantilly Lace: I’m sorry. It was a lot deeper than it looked.

Chantilly Lace: Oops, I missed.

Merlot: You can kiss me later, okay? In fact, maybe we should go home.

Chantilly Lace: Mmmnooo it’s so beautiful here, I want to stay, with you. With youuuuuuu~

Merlot: Yes, but I think we should get you home.

Chantilly Lace: I’m fine. I’m just sleepy…. Tell me a story.

Merlot: A story?

Chantilly Lace: Yes.

Merlot: I don’t know any stories.

Chantilly Lace: Ohhhhhhh-wah.

Chantilly Lace: What do you think our family will look like? Will we have boys? Girls? Maybe three of each!

Merlot: Maybe, I don’t know…. I see a girl, with your beautiful complexion and my hair. She looks just like you. She even has your diamond eyes.

Chantilly Lace: Oooo she is going to be beautiful, but I bet she has your eyes. Dark and mysterious, like you.

Merlot: *Heh*

Chantilly Lace: Merlot?”

Merlot: Yes?

Chantilly Lace: Make up a story. About our princess. Pleaseeeee.

Merlot: Alright, but I am not a storyteller. You have been warned. 

Merlot: Once upon a time, there was little girl, who lived in a castle far far away. This little girl was no ordinary girl, she was a princess, trapped away from the world. Her mother tried to keep her from the common folk, but some how one lonely soul was able to break his way through. Stumbling across her kingdom he fell for the princess instantly. Many days and night were fought for the young man to keep her hand, but on one not so special day, the princess came to him in the cover of moonlight. Her bright eyes glowing in its rays, they vowed to one another that they would be together forever, in this life time and all the others that would follow. Someday, somehow, they would find each other, no matter what the obstacle. Their vow was very powerful, and together they created a monument to their love. A child born of beauty and heart, who would forever be theirs to cherish…

Merlot: Oh! Shooting star! Did you see that?

Merlot: Lace?

Merlot: Lacey? Angel? Baby come back to me. You gotta wake up. 

Merlot: Help! Please someone! Help us! 

Merlot: NOOOOOOO Please berry NOO!!!

Merlot: OH BERRY NOOOOO!” 

Merlot: Lacey, please come back to me! Please!? I need you! I can’t make it without you! You can’t do this!? What about our princess! Lace?!?!?!

And just like that… she was gone.

Leave a Reply

