Prologue – Part 17

Jammy: Hello, Merlot, I’m Dr. Sammich. How did you know, Chantilly Lace?

Merlot: She was my… fiance.

Jammy: Oh my, oh dear. I’m afraid there was nothing we could do for her. The injuries were too severe.

Merlot: She said she was fine… I thought she was fine.

Jammy: Yes, well, outwardly there wasn’t much to see, but she must have hit her head on something under the water. You said she fell in?

Merlot: Only for a few seconds.

Jammy: Sometime’s that is all it takes. Was she drinking?

Merlot: *sigh* Yes.

Jammy: Probably why she didn’t feel it. I hope it comforts you to know she most likely did not suffer. Once she feel asleep, she just drifted away. I’m so sorry for your loss. You did what you could.

Jammy: These things happen.

Merlot: It was all my fault! I never should have forced her to go there!

Jammy: It’s called an accident for a reason.

Merlot: You don’t understand! She had plans! Dreams! She was supposed to be a mother! I took that all away from her!

Jammy: No, you didn’t. This wasn’t your fault. It was an unfortunate accident. They happen all the time. Sadly I see them far too often. Why don’t you go home. Get some rest. Please? Would you like me to call someone?

Merlot: No, I can’t go home. Not yet.

Merlot: Lacey baby, give me the strength to do this.

Vanilla: Get. Out.

Merlot: Mrs. Chiffon, I’m so sorry.

Vanilla: No, you don’t get to say that. I told you this would happen! I told you!

Merlot: You did and I didn’t listen.

Vanilla: Get out of my house! Murderer!

*muffled wailing*

Victoria: Oh, Merlot.

Merlot: She’s gone, Vic. What have I done? I only invited her there so we could start our new chapter by closing the old one. I was stupid. I should have known better.

Victoria: Don’t blame yourself. It was an accident.

Merlot: I went to see her mother. She asked me not to come and there is nothing I can do. If we were married… 

Victoria: It’s okay.

Merlot: No, it’s not. My life is over. She was everything good in my world and-

Victoria: Shhhh… it’s time to rest now.

A few days later…

Merlot: Hey Lace, it’s me. I’m not sure if you’re all that happy to see me, but here I am. Your mother said I wasn’t allowed, but as usual, I didn’t listen. I think I owe you an apology. *sigh* I messed up Lace. I never should have…This is all my fault! I never should have taken you there!

Merlot: If it was anyone’s fault it’s mine.

Merlot: But I guess it’s a little late to start throwing blame around. You’re gone and I miss you so much. I can hardly breathe. You know better than anyone I’m no good at this sort of thing. I brought these for you. Lillies, your favorite.

Merlot: This is too hard, angel. I can’t do it. I can’t. I need you, and I always have. I have no idea what will happen now. It was supposed to be you and me against the world, and now it’s not. I’m all alone again. I just hope you’re happy there, where ever there is. I love you, Lace, and I know it probably won’t mean much, but I swear to you right here and now I will never forget you. I couldn’t if I tried, and if I make it through this, it’s only because you’d want me to.

Merlot: But I don’t care anymore, I don’t. Life is pretty pointless without you. I’m so sorry, Lace. I hope you can forgive me. Maybe one day I’ll forgive myself. Don’t count on that anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

