Prologue – Part 9

Chantilly Lace: This is so exciting! I’ve never been to a restaurant before!

Merlot: Never?

Chantilly Lace: No, never.

Merlot: We picked a good place then. You can’t find a better burger in town.

Chantilly Lace: They were very kind to let us in. I had no idea there were such rules. No shoes. No shirt. No service… What an odd phrase.

Merlot: Yeah. I never even thought about it. I should have told you to grab some before we left.

Chantilly Lace: I don’t own any.

Merlot: You’re joking?

Chantilly Lace: She says there is no need.

Server: Can I take your order?

Merlot: Yeah, I’ll have the house burger with everything.

Server: And you miss?

Chantilly Lace: The same please.

Server: Drinks?

Merlot: Lemonade.

Chantilly Lace: I would like to try a cream soda please.

Chantilly Lace: What?

Merlot: Huh?

Chantilly Lace: You’re staring.

Merlot: Am I?

Chantilly Lace: You are.

Merlot: I’m sorry, it must be this lighting, but it makes you look terrible.

Chantilly Lace: *giggle*  You are such a goof.

Merlot: Guilty as charged.

Chantilly Lace: I like it.

Merlot: I like you.

Server: Is everything okay here?

Chantilly Lace: Couldn’t be better.

Server: Yeah, okay, great. Let me know if you need anything.

Chantilly Lace: MMMM! Everything is so delicious!

Merlot: Isn’t it?! It’s like my favorite place to eat. Used-ta come here all the time with…

Chantilly Lace: With?

Merlot: It’s not important.

Chantilly Lace: A Girlfriend?

Merlot: What? No. Not a girl friend. She was more like a sister.

Chantilly Lace: A sister?! You have a sister?! Wait… so, you’re aunt has a daughter?

Merlot: No, she doesn’t live with me.

Chantilly Lace: So cryptic. Now I have to know.

Chantilly Lace: You know your secret is safe with me. Who would I tell? My mother?

Merlot: It’s not really a secret… see, when I was in the home, there was a girl a few years older than me. She’d been there since her father’s arrest. I guess the stigma of being a criminals daughter made her unwanted, if you know what I mean.

Chantilly Lace: Oh how sad.

Merlot: And I wasn’t the friendliest kid. Kept to myself most of the time, but Victoria, she never gave up on me. Guess she was as lonely as I was. We became close. Real close…. until… Let’s just say, I hurt her real bad. It took only seconds to destroy everything we had, and we haven’t spoken since.

Chantilly Lace: What could you have possibly said?

Merlot: That we were never family…

Chantilly Lace: Oh, Merlot, how could you?

Merlot: It was stupid and the moment I said it, I regretted it, but it was too late.

Chantilly Lace: You need to apologize.

Merlot: I did, but she wouldn’t listen. Locked the door and never opened it to me again.

Chantilly Lace: No, now.

Merlot: Now? Like right now?

Chantilly Lace: You know where she lives, right?

Merlot: Well yeah…

Chantilly Lace: Then let’s go!!

Merlot: You don’t understand. Victoria is a little… different

Chantilly Lace: Meaning she doesn’t need an apology?

Merlot: Well no.

Chantilly Lace: You said yourself. she was your sister. Don’t you miss her?

Merlot: Of course I do.

Chantilly Lace: We should go. Maybe together we can pull it off.

Merlot: Okay, but when she murders me, spread my ashes in the twizzlerbrook swamp.

Merlot: Together?

Chantilly Lace: Together.

Leave a Reply

