Chantilly Lace: Gen 1 – Chapter 1

Chantilly Lace: I wonder where it came from?

Vanilla: Lacey?! Lacey dear!? Where are you?

Chantilly Lace: In my room, mother!

Vanilla: Oh, Lacey, thank goodness. I thought I heard someone at the door. You did not answer it, did you?

Chantilly Lace: There was no one there.

Vanilla: Lacey, I’ve told you many times. Do not answer the door!

Chantilly Lace: Nothing happened. It’s fine.

Vanilla: Yes, but something could have happened.

Chantilly Lace: *sigh* It didn’t, so can we drop it?

Vanilla: What is that?

Chantilly Lace: Huh?

Vanilla: That vase. Where did it com from?

Chantilly Lace: I don’t know. It was at the door when I opened it.

Vanilla: Well, please get rid of it.

Chantilly Lace: What? Why?!

Vanilla: It’s probably covered in germs.

Chantilly Lace: Mother, it’s harmless. Please can I keep it?

Vanilla: Very well, but throw out that hideous flower.

Chantilly Lace: It will die in a few days. I’ll throw it out then.

Vanilla: If you insist.

Vanilla: Listen, sweetie, I really dislike the way we left things earlier. I wish there was another way, I do.

Chantilly Lace: You could let me go to school with the other kids.

Vanilla: No. Absolutely not.

Chantilly Lace: *groan*

Vanilla: But I will think of something.

Chantilly Lace: Sure. Whatever. I’m going to bed.

Vanilla: Goodnight, dear. We can discuss this more in the morning.

Vanilla: Hi, yes, I’m calling about your ad in the paper?

Vanilla: Yes, I’m very interested, but I do have one question. How much could I offer for you to deliver it?

Vanilla: Yes, that will be fine. The address, is 4508, Linen Lane. In Fondant Fields, yes.

Vanilla: Okay, wonderful. Thank you. I’ll see you around noon.

Vanilla: Lacey!? Can you come in here please?

Chantilly Lace: What is it, mother? Oh… is this-

Vanilla: For you? Yes. The man delivered it just a little while ago.

Chantilly Lace: You bought me a computer?

Vanilla: Yes. I’ve called someone out to set it up. It should be ready to use in a day or so.

Chantilly Lace: I don’t know what to say.

Vanilla: I hope you like it. What better way to see the world with out being in it.

Chantilly Lace: I suppose it is better than nothing. Thank you, mother.

Vanilla: Of course dear. Now, it’s nearly 12:30. Please prepare for lessons.

The installer had his day’s backwards, so we were connected to the online world by late afternoon. I, of course, jumped on immediately. This was the most exciting thing to happen to my world in like ever…

Chantilly Lace: Hmmm let’s see… choose a username.

Chantilly Lace: Painting Rainbows.

Chantilly Lace: Make sure there are no spaces… Okay.

Chantilly Lace: PaintingRainbows.

Chantilly Lace: That name is already taken. Hmmm…

Chantilly Lace: PaintingRainbows9

Chantilly Lace: Eeee it worked!

As soon as I was signed in, I started researching EVERYTHING. Geography, art, pop culture, you name it!! So many photos of art! It was as if I’d died and gone to information heaven. I spent almost an entire day searching. Soaking in every last drop knowledge. 

It was incredible. 

My interest quickly grew to include local information. Neighboring towns and cities. We were only a few hours from the coast! Not that I was interested in the ocean. Sugar Valley, a small sea side town. Home of the iconic Peppermint Pier and Sugar Pepper memorial. Sweetness, was it beautiful! Buildings of every color lined the streets in bright patterns. Pink! Green! Blue! Light blue! Dark blue! Turquoise! It was a painter’s dream town.

Sugar Valley… that sounded so familiar. Then it dawned on me. That’s where IT happened. The accident that nearly killed me and took my father away from us. 

I’ll admit that put a small downer on it’s appeal, but everything was so pretty, it was hard not to be enamored.

Soon I found a site pertaining to a local Sugar Valley high school. Huckleberry High. Home to nearly 1,150 students. So many peers! 

I tried to look up information on Fondant Fields schools, but apparently we had yet to step into the technological era, so back to HBHS I went! There were schedules for rallies and football games. An extensive backstory on their mascot and then right at the bottom of the page, there was a link to the student chat room. 

Could I actually talk to other kids my age? Was it possible to get in as a non student?

*** Welcome ***

***** Currently 42 Students Chatting ******

I was in…

Leave a Reply

