Gen 8- Chapter 7 Part 1: Waterlily Whip

Ten page typed report on fatalism. Seemed easy enough, until I actually started into the research, countless branches stretched across many different subtopics, making it increasingly impossible for me to find what I needed. It wasn’t long before, I found myself knee deep in discussions of fate and predetermined destiny. Blinking blearily at the bright screen, I tried to make the words come together to form cohesive lines, that would argue my point. I was a firm believer in fates design, so my paper was supposed to argue the fact beyond a shadow of a doubt.

What I had written out, was probably less than 2 paragraphs. I rubbed my eyes again, they felt puffy and I was pretty sure they must have been red, but I had resolved to remain in the chair until I was at least half of the way done. This report was either going to kill me, or make me wish that the fates had dropped me into a less demanding English class.

Another paragraph done and…

*BANG*

“OMB!”

“Is it true?!” Midna tore into the room full speed, Coronation meandering only a second behind. The shock and confusion mixed in her face in a slightly off fashion. It almost seemed like she was excited. I swiveled around in the chair to face my sugary inquiry.

“Is what true?” I stammered.

Midna and Coronation settled down onto Saphs bed, making themselves comfortable before continuing.

“Uhhh you and Disco?”

“What? How did you know about that?”

“Coronation over heard Disco talking about it today. Didn’t you love?”

“Oh yes, he was talking about it this afternoon. Practicalee bouncing off the walls during 5th period.”

Elbows resting on my knees, I dropped my head into my hands. “Oh nooooooo.” I groaned.

“You don’t think Saph heard about it do you?” I asked with a glimmer of hope.

Quickly though my hope melted away, leaving only the realization that, ya she was probably just as aware as the rest of our Junior class. “Man, I was trying to keep this under wraps. Get it over with and pretend it had all been a bad dream. I should have know better…”

“Ya, I am pretty sure she knows sis.”

“Great…” Way to confirm my greatest fear.

Midna waved her hands in the air. “We have plenty of time to worry about that later. I wanna know the juicy details. When did you even start to like him?”

“Whoooooooa hold on there. I never said that I liked him.”

“But you are going on a date with him?”

“Yes, but only to get him off my back. Don’t know if you have noticed, but he recently transformed into this sort of super stalker and “this” is just a means to an end. I go one one date. He promises to leave me alone for one eternity.”

“Seems like a fair trade…OH! What are you going to wear?”

I opened my arms wide, indicating that what I had on would be my wardrobe of choice.

“Eww no! You have to wear something pretty.”

“Why?”

“Because that is what you do on a date.”

“Even dates you don’t really wanna go on?”

I spent the next fifteen minutes trying to argue my case to Midna, but in the end she just wouldn’t believe me that my hoodie and shorts would be proper date attire for this specific occasion.

“Can we talk about this later? I need food.”

“Go eat. Coronation and I were going to uhhh…work on some homework.”

I pushed from my chair and headed for the hallway. “Uh huh.” I smirked. “Have fun with your “home work” I’m gonna go tuck into that cherry vanilla swirl in the freezer.”

I closed the door behind them and headed downstairs and out the kitchen. The living room light was on, but no one seemed to be around.

By the time I reached the kitchen, my slight hunger pang and turned into a full fledged “OMB I’m starving pang.” So I decided to raid the fridge first for some substantial sustenance. There was a container of old goopy carbonara, which I wouldn’t have touched with a ten foot poll, a wide array of condiments, and a few assorted snack packs, all and all the fridge was pretty bare. Unable to find something suitable, I returned my original plan and pulled out the ice cream tub from the freezer.

“Lil.”

I froze, still stuck in the door. I knew that voice all too well.

“Can we talk?”

I closed the freezer door and walked to the counter, setting my cherry swirl down on it.

“Sure sis. Everything OK?”

I was fully prepared for some fancy footwork, but my dear Saph true to form, chose not to beat around the bush.

“I heard about your date with Disco today. I want you to know that its OK. If you like him, then you should go for it.”

This was a berry lovin a nightmare. I slammed my palm down onto the counter and roared. “Does no one listen to me?! How many times do I have to say it?! I DON’T LIKE HIM!”

“Take it easy sis. I’m just saying, that if you did… I am OK with it. I should have seen this coming along time ago. Maybe not the “you” part, but all the signs were there, that it wasn’t me…” Saph’s voice wavered ever so slightly and I immediately rushed to her side.


“Saph, look at me. I would never do that to you. I would never willingly date your ex, but you have to understand, he will not leave me alone. I swear the only reason I am going on this one date…” I threw heavy emphasis on the one. “Is to get him to leave me alone, once and for all. Then it will be over. I promise.”

“Lil, I don’t care anymore. He and I, it’s done. You can do what ever you want. Date him fine. Ignore him for a century. It’s up to you. I refuse to let some stupid boy get between you and me. I love you sis, and I’m sorry I have been so angry.”

A feeling of pure relief traveled around my system and I threw my arms around drawing my dear sister in for a giant bear hug. “Oh Saph. I’m so sorry. Please don’t be mad at me. I don’t ever want to fight again.”

At least one thing in my life was starting to turn around. Hooray for small berry blessings.

“Where do you think you’re going?”

“I thought we discussed this…”

“Ok… let us rephrase that. Where do you think you’re going dressed like that?”

I looked down at my well worn yet comfortable ensemble. “I am going to refer to my previous comment.”

“You can’t wear that.”

“Why not.”

“Because you just can’t. Here we found this in Mom’s closet. It’s super cute.”

Saph dropped a neatly folded pile of blue and teal clothing into my arms and then shoved me back into the bathroom for changing. I was still facing the open door as *slam* it shut right in my face.

“OK… ya. I will just change into these, thanks.”

I took the blouse off the top of the pile and held it up to me. It was cute enough, I guess it wouldn’t hurt. I started to pull it over my head when something else in the pile caught my eye. I stopped and dropped the teal blouse onto the sink and lifted off the blue one instead. To my horror, it was a skirt. I called through the closed bathroom door. “I am so not wearing a skirt! Next thing I know, you will try to make me put on a pair of shoes.”

“Whoa lets not get hasty now! No one said anything about shoes. It’s just a skirt, it won’t hurt you.” Saph called back.

Knowing full well I wouldn’t be getting out of the bathroom without my new outfit on, I carelessly threw on the blouse and slipped on the evil skirt. “Your killing me. You do realize that, right?”

I reemerged from the bathroom feeling slightly less comfortable. The new found freedom that wrapped around my thighs made feel even more awkward. I tried to pull the skirt down a little further, but it was down as far as it could go. Definitely too short and too open for my liking.

“Oh! You look so pretty Lil!” Midna squealed.

“Thanks.”

“Mom, knew the top would fit you perfect. She said it was her favorite when she was our age. Huh Mom?”

“That’s right.”

“Yes, I like the shirt just fine. It’s this skirt. Can’t I just wear my shorts?” I pleaded again.

“It looks so nice though!”

Saph and I were continuing our back and forth, when Mom turned to Midna. For being blind she had one uncanny sense of direction.

“Midnight dear hold out your hand please.” Mom unfastened the necklace that had always rested around her neck and carefully dropped into Midna’s open palm. She then gently closed Midna’s fingers over it. “She should wear this.”


Sapphire now standing behind me reached her arm over my shoulder for the peach and silver locket. “Yes! It will go perfectly! Here let me put it on.”

Midna slightly reluctant at first, finally agreed and handed it over. Sapphire set it down upon my neck and in less than a flash, I was adorned with the rather old family heirloom. “I can’t keep this.” I hesitated, now holding the warm locket in my hand.

“Just for the night. You can give it back to me tomorrow. OK?”

“Alright, I don’t know why you are all making such a big fuss. No one cared when I went on that date with Pomp last week.”

“That was coffee.” Sapph butted in. “This is a date.”

“An unwilling date…” I corrected.

“Still a date. You have to look your best.”

I was about to make another bargain to try and get out of the skirt, when the doorbell rang. Oh no. That had to be Disco. I felt my stomach lurch. I wasn’t ready! Taking me by the shoulders Midna nudged me in the direction of the staircase.

“Go get em tiger!”

Everyone’s exuberance only helped in making me more nervous. I felt my cheeks warm as I descended down the staircase. One date and its done. You can do this. I reaffirmed to myself for probably 10th time that afternoon. Even still when Disco’s voice rang out, it caused me a moment of panic and I hesitated momentarily at the bottom of the steps.

Deep breaths.

When I finally emerged, Dad was heavy into the role of the inquiring father act. A routine I had seen plenty of times before with Saph and even Midna when she and Coronation had first start dating. It felt weird, that I would be experiencing the same thing with someone who had already seen this song and dance.

“Yes Sir, 11:30 no later and- Lil? Wow you look amazing.” My cheeks flushed deeper. Even after my strict instructions for them not to, I could feel the heat radiating off my cheeks.

“Thanks.”

“Ok, well you two have fun.” Dad kissed me on the side of my cheek and then Disco and I slowly exited onto the front porch. The door closed behind us and with it my fate was sealed. This was it, few more hours and then there would be no more Disco ever again.

15 responses

  1. “Even after my strict instructions for them not to, I could feel the heat radiating off my cheeks.”

    eep!! ♥__♥ the heart wants what the heart wants, Lil….
    *crossing fingers that the date goes well*

    and I’m so glad she made up with Saph… that was so cute :’)

  2. Ooh my berry sense’s are tingling, go get em tiger! Yay, saph & lil are friends again ooh and I don’t think this will be the only date they’ll go on in their little pixel lifes XD My heart swells with berryliciousness!

Leave a comment