Gen 5- Chapter 8: Pineapple

{alt}

Our birthday barbecue was a big success! Sure it was overcast as all heck, but once you live in Twizzlerbrook, you pretty much learn that unless it is actually raining, you don’t let a little weather ruin your plans. We see the sun very seldom. Butterscotch was up first, and unfortunately was not on the best mood.

{alt}

While some were not in attendance at all, Lime was unable to make due to her mother being in the hospital. Others were definitely unwanted guests. It seemed, after Tigra and Butterscotch split up, Mika and she decided there was a little more there than a game of tag…

{alt}

So needless to say Butterscotch was none too pleased.

{alt}

I was up next…I thought about my wish long and hard and then blew out the candles. What did I wish for? I can’t tell you!

{alt}

Not too bad huh?

{alt}

After the cake was cut, little munchkin asked me to come and sit with her. I grinned a huge grin as I took my plate and placed it on the table next to her. We were having a little chat about Fluffy Bear when Mom called from the siding glass door at the back of the house.

“Sweetheart! You have a phone call! Its someone from Moonfruit Pohtography!”

I was recently hired on by Moonfruit as a spare photographer, so I wiped my mouth of frosting and headed for the kitchen.

“Don’t eat my cake while I am gone now!”

“No promises…” Symphony teased as she stuffed another forkful in her mouth.

{alt}

“This is Pineapple.”

“Hello Pineapple, this is Miracle Moonfruit calling.

“Hello Ma’am.”

“Look, I am sorry to bother you on your birthday, but there is a big gig tomorrow and unfortunately I will not be able go. I really don’t want us to lose this client, but there is no way I can do it. Would you be willing to do a wedding in Sugar Valley tomorrow?”

“Of course!”

“Oh wonderful! Its going to be at the Wedding Cake Chapel on the hill.”

“Uh huh…wedding cake chapel” I repeated as i jotted down all the info.

“Yes the Bitters-Cado wedding at 12 noon.”

My pen froze on the paper. “I’m sorry the?”

“Bitters-Cado wedding.”

{alt}

I think my heart completely stopped.

“Pineapple are you there? Did I lose you?”

“No I am here. I am terribly sorry, but I can’t…”

“You can’t?”

“No Ma’am I am…err kind of acquainted with the Bride.”

“I see… Well I suppose I will have to find someone else then. Good day Pineapple.”

She hung up the phone, and I just stared at the receiver. It was happening already. Honey was getting married. My birthday party buzz had fizzled and all I felt was sick to my stomach. I hung up the phone and went to my room, I did not feel much like partying after that.

{alt}

I sat on my bed, just staring at my shoes. I could hear Miracle over and over again in my head. “The Bitters-Cado wedding… Bitters-Cado wedding.” I just couldn’t believe it, her birthday had only been a month before.

Once I was sure all the guests were gone, I slipped out back.

{alt}

I sat by the fire-pit just watching the crackling flame. My thoughts were so scattered. I would think about Honey, but then I would remember Lime. Sweet Lime… I couldn’t figure out why it was this bothering me so much? We had said our goodbyes over a year ago, but hearing that she was getting married, started churning up emotions I had not felt for a long time. Suddenly I missed Honey with every fiber in my being.

“Something bothering you Son?”

{alt}

I was so lost in my own little world, that when Grandpa sat down and started to speak, it caused me to jump about two feet off my chair.

“Whoa, take it easy kiddo!”

“Hi…Grandpa.”

“You kinda disappeared there. Is everything alright?”

{alt}

“Grandpa I am so confused right now.”

“Tell Pappa Pummy all about it.”

“Well…There is this girl…and I love her, so so much, but her family is forcing her into a marriage she doesn’t want.”

“Oh I see?”

“Ya I guess all Bitters have arranged marriages.”

“Bitters?”
“Bitters?!”

{alt}

I soon realized it was not just Grandpa who had inquired about the “Bitters”, but mom as well. Her face was contorted in the most angry mom face I had ever seen. Even worse than the Sunny indecent.

“The Bitters are just like their name says they are. They are nasty and mean and the deserve to be unhappy.”

“But shes different mom. She’s gentle and kind, she is nothing like them!”

“Trust me son, all Bitters are the same. Its best to just let this one go.” She stated matter o factly and then stormed off.

I turned back to grandpa, the look of defeat was written all over my face.

{alt}

Grandpa didn’t say a word, he just grabbed a couple sticks and places some marshmallows on the end. With a smile he handed me one of the sticks. “Don’t mind her. She had a pretty bad experience with a Bitters back in the day.

“She did?”

“Oh yes. Heck the whole family has had their fare share of trouble thanks to them.”

“How come no one ever talked about it?”

“Well there was no need. We lived here, they lived there. We kinda did our best to forget. You know?”

“Yes.”

“So this girl…what is her name?”

“Honey Mint.”

“And you love this Honey Mint?

“With all my heart.”

“Then you need to fight for her. Tell her how you feel. If she is the one, you nee-” All of a sudden Grandpa stopped right in the middle of his sentence.

{alt}

For a millisecond I had no idea what had caused him to stop, but then I heard a muffled gasp from behind.

{alt}

“Lime!” I stammered as I stood up from my chair. “What are you doing here?”

“I found a ride…”

{alt}

I wasn’t exactly sure how much of she conversation she had heard, but it was obvious from the look on her face, that she had heard enough. She wouldn’t look at me. I could feel these huge knots in the pit of my stomach.

“Is it true? Are you still in love with Honey.”

I was frozen where I stood. After several excruciating moments, I dropped my head. “Yes.”

{alt}

I half expected her to start hitting me or yell and scream, but instead she dropped her head onto my chest and started to cry. I felt so awful. I cared very deeply for Lime, but I realized that I did not love her. I stroked her hair and whispered her in ear. “I’m so sorry.”

{alt}

I held her for a while, until she finally spoke. “Promise me….You will to go to her Pineapple. Don’t let her family get in the way of yours and her happiness. I want you, but she needs you… She was so sad all the time. It broke my heart to see her like that.”

I could feel the tears starting to well up in my eyes. I kissed her on the forehead and I nodded. “I promise.”

{alt}

Thankfully my brother was kind enough to give her a ride home. I would have offered, but I figured I was the last one she would want to spend an hour car ride with after the previous events. I wished her nothing but the best, and waved goodbye as they drove away.

{alt}

The next morning while I was preparing for my trip, there was a knock at the door.

“Come in!”

Grandpa’s face came into view. “Hey son…I have something for you.”

“For me?”

“Yes.” He confirmed and stepped further into my bedroom.”

{alt}

He was clutching something in his worn and tired hands.

“I want you to have this. It…It was your Grandmothers.”

{alt}

I was speechless…

“I can’t take that.”

“Yes. You can. And you will.”

He opened my hand and carefully dropped the locket into my palm.”

“I gave her that locket as a symbol my love. Now I give to you, so you can do the same.”

“Thank you.”

Soon we were interrupted by another knock at the door. It was mom.

{alt}

“I will leave you two alone.” Grandpa stated as he slipped out the door.

“Hey Mom.”

“Pineapple, I came to apologize for the way I acted last night. I was out of line.”

“It’s ok.”

“Listen Son. Its not going to be easy getting her away from those horrid people, but if you somehow succeed. Bring her home, she is welcome here and I am so sorry for judging her so unfairly. Bitters are horrible people and if she is a gentle soul like you say she is, she needs you. Someone told me once I would make a decision that would change a life forever, well I think this is it. Go save your Honey.”

“Thank you Mom.”

——————————————————

{alt}

*Sniff*

I stood before the grand mirror looking at my gorgeous gown and lovely hair, but all I felt was sadness. I was about to marry Cado Pitt. My only chance for happiness, I foolishly pushed away, and for what? To make my mother happy? What about my happiness?

{alt}

Celly and Grandmother entered the room and I took a seat in the chair. I did my best to retouch up makeup before they could tell I had been crying, but it was fairly obvious that was what was happening.

“Honey please don’t cry. This is supposed to be happy day.”

“But I’m not happy Grandma…I hate this!” I cried as I threw the mascara bottle back on the table.

“Enough sniveling! Get your act together, this wedding is happening in 20 minutes, so get over yourself!”

“Celly!!!”

{alt}

I turned to my mother again. “Please don’t make me do this! PLEASE?!?!” I screamed, the tears rolling down my face.

“Honey…This crying act has to stop. I will not stand another second of this nonsense!!”

{alt}

“Its not fair!” I couldn’t fight it, the tears continued to fall. I dug my head into my grandmothers chest, my shoulders were heaving from the sobs.

“Shhhh shhh I know. I know. It will be alright.”

“Honey?”

My whole body froze, I knew that voice, I looked up to see Pineapple standing at the door.

{alt}

Automatically my mother jumped in front of me and sneered.

“What are YOU doing in here!? Get Out!! Cordial!!” Oh Berry no, She had called out for my father.

{alt}

With in moments all three men including my husband to be, were standing behind my beloved Pineapple.

“I am not going anywhere without Honey.”

“Hah! Where is she going to go? You are a fool if you think I am going to let you waltz in here and take off with my daughter! Remove him from the premises!”

All three grabbed a hold of his shoulders and I screamed. “NO!!”

To everyone’s shock, my grandmother shot across the room.

{alt}

“Enough! Celly this has gone on long enough! I can’t do this again! I can’t watch another heartbroken soul walk this earth because of choices I have made. I missed the one chance I had at love, and then I made you do the same. Celly I am so sorry!”

“I have no idea what you are talking about.”

{alt}

“You know exactly what I am talking about!”

“I should have never forced into marrying Cordial, and poor Honey shouldn’t be forced into marrying Cado.”

Mother was still for several moments looking all parties over carefully. Finally she dropped her head in defeat. “Let him go.”

My father and the other men released Pineapple and he rushed over to me.

{alt}

“Honey, I love you and I can’t spend another moment without you. Please come with me! I want to dry those tears.” As he spoke he brought one hand up to my face and wiped away a tear with his thumb.

“Oh Pineapple I love you too.”

{alt}

“I want you to have this.” He pulled a locket from his pocket and carefully unfastened the one that had been around my neck. Once it was around my neck, I held it in my hand and up against my chest.

“Its beautiful.”

{alt}

He pulled me into his arms and kissed me, that kiss I had been longing for since the night we parted and I stupidly said goodbye, it all seemed surreal. My Pineapple was really here and I was ready to leave my old life behind, just to be with him.

I squeezed his neck even tighter and then whispered in his ear. “I want to go home.”

{alt}

We walked hand in hand out the front door, and no one even tried to stop us. I felt a huge weight lifted off my shoulders as we made our way out to his car. A smile began to grow across my face. Finally a Bitters would be loved.

100 responses

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww Berry I’m crying over here. That was beautiful and perfect. I am sorry for Lime but Honey is happy and Papple is happy and I am over the moon

  2. That was everything I had hoped it would be, You are amazing Berry! They are finally together and because Olive finally let her heart win. I think Lime will be ok… I think I see a new possibility for her 🙂

  3. Awww a gorgeous chapter, I’m so pleased that Honey and Papple are going to be together, but poor Lime….I really hope she finds happiness too, she done an amazing thing telling Papple to go get Honey. 🙂

  4. “Finally a Bitters would be loved.”
    *tears up* AW. Best ending line EVER.

    Cutest chapter in the world, seriously. I will probably come back to read this several times.

    Butterscotch and Lime need to hook up now…:D

  5. Poor Lime!
    I was on team Honey, all the way. But I want Lime to be happy too! This is just so sad, and happy, and.. and.
    *Hugs Lime*
    “It’ll be all right”
    Honey and Pineapple are perfect, that’s just the way it had to be. And Lime will find her man, I’m sure of it!
    *Ping*
    Ooh, I think I know a match, but I’m not gonna ruin the surprise.

    Loved it Berry, awesome chapter, don’t mind the jibberish above :).

  6. YESSSSSSSSS!!! 😀 This just made my day. I feel kinda bad for laughing when I saw Lime, like it wasn’t obvious he still loved Honey the whole time.

  7. Awwww YAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYY!!!!!! :’3 :’3 :’3 :’3 :’3

    I just couldn’t stop smiling after i read this chapter and my sister saw me and thought I was crazy! 😀

    I’m actually still smiling… !!!! :’3 :’3

    And Lime, you just gained half of all my respect for telling Pineapple not to let go of Honey.. I’m sure you will find your own soulmate very, very soon 😉

    The other half goes to Olive for being so incredibly awesome!! 😀 You have a heart of gold after all! :3
    Maybe if Peche is still alive they could start seeing each other again…

    Best. Chapter. EVER!!!!!!!

  8. YESSSSS!!
    Hony and papple were sooo ment to be!
    hope lime finds love elsewhere…
    maybe a new heartbroken guy????
    loved witnessing the evolution of Olive bitters…great writing as always berry!

  9. That was so beautiful! I am bawling my eyes out here… it was just so, so… perfect!!
    Finally Honey and Pineapple can be together!
    Poor Lime though… I am definitely hoping for a Lime/Butterscotch get together! lol
    Really really lovely!
    I think im gonna start crying again… Berry, I am pathetic!

  10. ahhh that was absolutely perfect. I am so happy he choose Honey. They are wonderful together.
    You are such a talented author. It is crazy how connected and how much I care about the Chiffon family.

  11. I am SOOO happy that Pummy and Olive were still alive to make their families see reason. That was such a good chapter, Berry; I’m crying over here. >_<

  12. It’s funny how Pummy and Olive were enemies, but together they’ve made berrylicious happines and love between Pineapple and Honey together.

    An absoultely amazing berrytastic fantastical flaboursome chapter XD !!

  13. GO OLIVE!!!!!!!!!!!! woot woot. YAY MY B-DAY WISH CAME TRUE!!!!!!!!! dude berry u had me freakin crying i think this is my favorite chapter………..well until strawpenny snaple comes in but ya kno. the begaining was fantasic the middle was fantasic and the ending was fantasic!!!!!! Berry u work miracles ❤

  14. Poooooooor Lime! I was SO hoping that she’d be the one, but now that Butterscotch is free… Hmmmm….

    BUT I’m still SO happy for Pineapple and Honey and really glad that Granny Bitters doesn’t have me shaking my fist this chapter. I was getting all worn out from that!

  15. OMIGAWD! THAT WAS THE BEST CHAPTER EVA!
    GO PINEAPPLE!
    GO HONEY!
    GOTTA PARTAY LIKE ITS YA B-DAY!
    GO PUMMY!
    GO OLIVE!
    GOTTA PARTAY LIKE ITS YA B-DAY!
    xD Just had to get that out there!
    And please no one reply “You don’t gotta scream I’m right here!” BECAUSE I’M SCREAMIN’ CAUSE I’M HAPPEH!

  16. Whoot! PinaHoney FOREVER!
    I feel so sorry for Lime, though. I really did like her, now more than ever for doing the right thing with Papple =(

    I’m already thinking about those beautiful children =’) Such a happy ending.

  17. This is like my faviote chapter since when apicot and pummy got married on her bday. sooooooo kute. now the chiffen and bitters will finally be renuited!!!!!IM SO HAPPY! hoping they have more then one baby…and maybe a boy it would be the first in a long time…

    SOOOOOOOOOO CUUUUUUTTTTTTTTTTTEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    cant wait til the nxt chapter

  18. 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’m so happy for those two!! and olive, omg, seriously did not see her outburst coming. i’m glad she put a stop to the arraged marriage tradition (she waited until the last minute didn’t she 😉 ). i feel so awful for lime though, she’s so adorable but i’m sure you have some happiness planned out for her 🙂

  19. GOOOO OLIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
    YAY.
    though i was for lime; i love honey too.
    honey is as sweet as her name 🙂
    well as her first name 😀

  20. OMB! Will Olive and Peche be at the wedding? Will forrest be there? OMB will Olive get a happy ending too knowing that Forrest is happy with Rose before she fades? Does this mean there will Papple Honey Mint babies soon?!?!?! So many questions!

  21. YESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!! Success! Honey is beuatiful and I like her way more than Lime (although I still feel bad for poor Lime) I am such a happy camper now! They will have cute kids! … I’m getting ahead of myself aren’t I? Something is gonna come along and quickly rain on my parade. They can’t be together that easily…

  22. Read this earlier , but I couldn’t post, had tears, what a wonderful chapter Pineapple, my hero!! So cool, love it and it looks like Lime might be in the family after all… just not with Pineapple… And Mom, she’s the bomb! And Grandpa, wow, I love that family!!!
    What a sweet and lovely chapter.

  23. YAY for Pineapple and Honey, but I feel bad for Lime too. Kinda think that Lime shoulda half expected that he still loved Honey though. Maybe she’ll end up with a brother. 😉

  24. Hi Berry, once again I’ve got myself behind, but it’s always a pleasure to catch up 😀
    Great chapter! I’m glad a decision has finally been made, although you could see that he never stopped loving Honey 😉

  25. You just got another Berry fan. I spent hours reading chapters last night and again this morning. I just finished and wow! I’m hooked. Amazing chapter this was and I’m so very glad he chose Honey. It hurt to read of them apart.

    I sure hope we hear good news for Mint soon.

    ~Rawla

  26. Poor Poor Lime, I wanted to hug her. But I couldn’t help saying a little cheer for Honey and Pineapple ,I am so happy for them, Yay!

Leave a comment