Prologue – Part 1

Vanilla: Lacey, let me in.

Chantilly Lace: No.

Vanilla: That’s not a request.

Chantilly Lace: Go Away.

Vanilla: Lacey, this is ridiculous.

Vanilla: *groan* Why I ever agreed to give you a lock.

Chantilly Lace:

Vanilla: Chantilly Lace Chiffon, open this door or I will take it off the hinges!

Chantilly Lace: What?!

Vanilla: Don’t you raise your voice to me.

Chantilly Lace: Why can’t you just leave me alone?

Vanilla: Because we need to talk about this.

Chantilly Lace: You’ve already made it perfectly clear. If I step outside those doors, the world is going to get me. So here I am, in my room minding my own business. What more do you want from me?

Vanilla: *sigh* 

Vanilla: It’s not that simple.

Chantilly Lace: It must be simple. You keep me locked up here for no other reason.

Vanilla: You know exactly why.

Chantilly Lace: That was an accident. You can’t control accidents.

Vanilla: Accident or not, daddy isn’t with us anymore.

Chantilly Lace: I could just as easily slip and fall in the shower.  No place is one hundred percent safe. Not even in this house.

Vanilla: Lacey, watch your mouth.

Vanilla: It’s for your own good.

Chantilly Lace: *hmmphh*

Vanilla: There’s nothing out there worth the risk.

Chantilly Lace: Maybe not for you, but you can’t decide that for me.

Vanilla: I can’t lose you too.

Chantilly Lace: No. Don’t do that. No more guilt. It’s not fair.

Vanilla: Lacey… 

Chantilly Lace: Unless you’re going to let me go, I’d appreciate you leaving me alone.

Vanilla: Okay…

Vanilla: Good night, love.

Chantilly Lace: Night.

Vanilla: One day you’ll understand.

Chantilly Lace: I don’t think I will.

Vanilla: I’ll see you in the morning.

Chantilly Lace: Yeah, sure.

Dear friend,

I know I said I wasn’t going to, but I’ve come to realize I’m incapable of keeping promises. Tonight I attempted another escape. Unfortunately she caught me before I ever left the front porch. I used to think it was her super sonic hearing, but maybe it’s me. Maybe I’m far too scared. What if I made it out? Then what would I do? I guess I will never know.

It’s not like I don’t understand, mind you. What happened to daddy was terrible and partly my fault. She won’t admit it, but I know she thinks so too. I understand her fear. Why can’t she understand how I feel? Living a life trapped inside these walls. It’s no life. I’m existing, but I’m not living. I hate it. I’m not supposed to use that word, but you won’t tell anyone will you?

Of course you won’t. That’s why I can trust you with all of my secrets. If mother ever discovered you, well, let’s not worry about that. I keep you safely hidden and I’m sure if she knew half of what I’ve written, I’d know that she knows. Just a few more years and then I can leave. Can I make it that long? It seems like an eternity of waiting. Never speaking to another soul-

*crash*

2 responses

  1. I have already read through this prolouge once… but I can’t help but read it again! This is by far one of my favorite stories ever made and one of my favorite sites/blogs. I’m so happy you’re back, it brings me so much joy. Having read this story before, I can’t help but fall in love again. So thank you for bringing them back. I really can’t wait to read this once more ❤

Leave a comment