Gen 4- Chapter 6: Saffron Sugar

When the rain is blowing in your face
And the whole world is on your case
I could offer you a warm embrace
To make you feel my love

When the evening shadows and the stars appear
And there is no one there to dry your tears
I could hold you for a million years
To make you feel my love

~Bob Dylan

SSC149

Once Mr. Dreamy had moved in with us, my dreams had all but stopped. Until the night before I was to start my new job at the Silverberry Gallery. I had spent the entire day trying to avoid running into him, unsuccessfully I might add, and by the time night time fell, I was completely exhausted (and frustrated). I said a couple goodnights and went up to my room. I fell into bed and was almost asleep the moment my head hit the pillow.

{alt}

When I opened my eyes again, I was back on the beach. It took me only a millisecond this time to figure out where I was and I let out yet another big sigh. “Again? Really?” As usual the place was empty and no one around for miles. Suddenly i felt this uncontrollable anger take over me and I started to run out to the oceans edge.

{alt}

I kicked sand into the water, screaming at the setting sun! “Why do you keep bringing me here?! Do you like seeing me suffer? Is that it!” The anger quickly turned to sadness and I felt the tears start to fall. “Oh great! Now are you happy?!” I cried into my hands, the pain was so intense, which was only exacerbated by the fact I was in a dream time state, and to my dismay the tears continued to flow as the coolness of the night took over, and the sun dropped completely below the horizon.

SSC152

I felt a presence at my side, and I knew “you know who” was close. I chose to ignore him. Maybe he would just go away. He was pretty much the last person I wanted to see at that moment.

SSC153

Of course he did nothing of the sort. “Beautiful why are you crying?”

I wanted to yell at him, tell him to GET LOST! and I NEVER WANT TO SEE YOU AGAIN! or maybe ask why he enjoyed lifting my hopes up just to let them be crushed again.

{alt}

Instead I collapsed into his arms and cried even harder. “It wasn’t supposed to be like this! It was supposed to be easy. All we had to do was meet. Thats what you said. So then why is it so hard?! You don’t even recognize me! I looked more crazy than my poor sister!”

“Shh, shh its ok. Let it out.” He said as he stroked my hair and I soaked the shoulder of his shirt.

SSC155

After a while, I was able to gather some control. I began to pull away from him and then stopped. I didn’t want to pull away. This is where I wanted to be forever. Right there in his arms. It felt right, but it only fueled my frustration that i was unable to have it. *Sniff* “I’m sorry. I don’t know why I am acting like this.”

SSC156

“Its ok.” I understand. I have no idea why he is acting that way either. Remember what you promised? Don’t give up on me?”

*Sniff* “Yes. I remember.”

“I know he will come around.”

“Ya….”

{alt}

Glaze then took my face in his hands, and looked straight into my eyes. “You are the most beautiful woman I have ever met asleep or awake, and I know that he feels the same way. He does! I promise.” I felt my cheeks blush.

SSC158

Then finally the moment we had both been longing for. He pulled me into a kiss and it was incredible. As his lips pressed against mine, I felt electricity all through my body.

SSC159

“Wow…”

{alt}

*BEEP BEEP BEEP “Before you go! Saffon Sugar, beauty of my dreams. I want you to know, I love you. Don’t give up o- BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP*

{alt}

For the first time in months, I woke with a feeling of refreshment. I floated into the bathroom to shower and prepared for my big day. I did my hair a little more fancy, and made sure to throw on my most business-y looking outfit. I took one more glance in the mirror and then nodded to myself.

SSC162

As I stepped out the front door, the sun was barely starting to come up over the horizon. I had to leave at 5 am if I was to make it to Sugar Valley by 7.

SSC163

I arrived at the Silverberry Gallery at 6:45am, I was quite proud of my commute time and mentally congratulated myself as I headed up the steps. I could see a figure in the lobby, and I was pretty sure it was Mrs. Fizz`. I stepped through the huge glass doors, where I found her doing some calculations. I didn’t want to interrupt her, but after 2 and a half minutes of going unnoticed, I gently cleared my throat. “Ahem.”

{alt}

“Oh my stars! I did not even see you there. You weren’t waiting long were you?”

“No Ma’am.”

“Oh please call me Mint. You are Saffron Sugar yes?”

“Yes Ma- I mean… Yes I am.”

“Wonderful! So glad you made it and on time. I like that! Let me introduce you to the rest of the crew.”

SSC165

Mint lead me through the the main gallery, where we were greeted by a bubbly woman named Saphira.

“Saphira this is Saffron Sugar Chiffon. Saffron, Saphira Muffin.”

OMB! I have heard so much about you! She squealed as she took my hand and shook it profusely. I feel like I am meeting a celebrity! I loved your piece ‘The Love with in’ it was breathtaking. Oh this is truly an honor!”

A Celebrity? I had never considered myself a celebrity before. Though it did feel nice to have someone recognize my work.

“Yes well. Saphira dear you will have to catch up with Saffron later, I have yet to introduce her to Eli and Celly.”

“Oh say no more. It was wonderful to meet you Saffron!”

“And you as well. bye!”

{alt}

We then walked upstairs, where we found an older gentlemen studying one of the sculptures there. He was dressed almost like Hugh Hazelnut. Kind of odd for an art gallery, but who was I to judge. Mint cleared her throat in almost the same way I had done just a few moments before, but unlike her, he did not even flinch. She tapped the toe of her shoe on the floor, and then reached out for his shoulder. “Eli dear there is someone here you need to meet.”

SSC167

“Oh you must be Saffron Sugar. So wonderful to have you here. Your art is quite inspiring.”

“Why thank you sir.”

“No need to thank me. It is the truth. Your pieces have brought a new light to the up and coming wing. Simply amazing”

Goodness with all this praise, I was just hoping I wasn’t going to get a big head from it all.

“Now if you ever need anything. You just let me know.”

“Yes Sir.”

“Come dear we have one more person for you to meet.” Mint said as she lead me into the break room.

{alt}

We entered the break room, and I saw a girl who had to be at least two years younger than me sitting at the break table with her lap top.

“Celly, dear this is Saffron.”

“…”

Suddenly the bubbly voice of Saphira came over the intercom. “Mint you have a call on line 1. Mint Line 1.”

“Oh goodness. I need to take that. I will be right back.”

“Of course.”

After Mint had left the room, I decided to strike up a conversation.

“Hi Celly. Its nice to meet you. I am so excited to get started here. Everyone seems so nice.”

SSC169

Out of no where she slammed her head down onto the keyboard and then pressed herself away from the table. Her quick overly dramatic movement startled the berry right out of me.

SSC170

Unsure what was about to happen, I took a small step back.

“OHH look at me. I am the “famous” Saffron Sugar. I can push paint globs around on a canvas. I am so special.”

I just stared at her my eyes growing wider.

“I don’t know if you were trying to get on my bad side, but you completely succeeded. So if you see me working, minding my own business, I would appreciate it if you would leave me alone. Got It?”

“Uh Ya…”

“Good… now if you don’t mind.” she snarled, as she retook her seat in front of her computer.

Thankfully Mint reentered the room soon after and dragged me back to the main gallery.

SSC172

As we walked, I inquired about the friendly and sweet girl I had just had the honor of meeting. “So is Celly always so…friendly?”

“You will have to excuse my niece, she is not the most patient person, she gets that from her mother I suppose. Shes actually more bitter than Celly if you can beleive that. Guess their surname fits them well… Oh dear, that was rude of me.”

Just then we entered the main gallery, but something looked different this time. There was a small exhibit surrounded by red velvet ropes, with only an easel resting atop it.

“And this is where you will be working. What do you think?”

I looked at her slightly confused. “Well its nice, but I am not sure what you mean.”

“Oh no. Eli did not explain that part to you on the phone?”

“Err I don’t think he did.”

{alt}

“Oh dear. Ok. Well this is our new exhibit which we are calling “Live art”. You will be painting here and the patrons will be able to walk by and observe you in the process.”

I tried to keep a calm face, but it was obvious by the way Mint was trying to smooth it all over; I was not doing a very good job.

“Oh my, oh dear, Eli was supposed to tell you all about this when he called you. I am so terribly sorry.”

“Its all right, I will just need a little time to prepare myself.”

“Absolutely. You take as much time as you need. We open in two hours, but if you are not ready, please just let me know.”

“Thank you.”

With that she excused herself again, and I was left to take it all in. Wow… painting in front of an audience, that is kind of nerve racking, though it did explain the hefty salary I was to be getting. Ok, sure I can do this. I made my way back to Mint and told her I was ready.

SSC174

It wasn’t nearly as scary as I had envisioned it would be, it turned out to be quite fun. It was field trip day, so we had children coming in and out all morning.

SSC175

Their less than excited tour guide was Celly. Her voice was dripping with sarcasm as she repeated the script she had been given by her Aunt to read. ” And here is our “Live Art” exhibit, where you can watch the wonderful painter Saffron Sugar Chiffon in action as she paints her next masterpiece…”

The children  were all talking amongst themselves.

“Wow!”

“Pretty!”

“Hi up there!”

“Thats so neat!”

“Yes Neat…Moving on.”

Slowly the chattering got quieter as they all went to the next room. Besides the less than sunny Celly this was a really fun job!”

SSC176

I was really getting into my painting groove, when I heard another set of footsteps, by this time I was getting pretty used to all the people moving around and watching, so I did not think anything of it. But then I heard a familiar voice. “You are incredibly talented.”

My brushed stopped on the canvas. It couldn’t be. I turned around and there below me just across the velvet rope was Glaze.

SSC177

“Thank you. What on earth are you doing here?”

“I was wondering if I could speak to you for a moment?”

I nodded and then helped myself down, my heart began racing faster and faster as I did.

———————————————

Special Bonus! Aren’t you all lucky! lol j/k

Glazes P.O.V.

{alt}
{alt}

As I watched her leave, I felt heavy in my heart. It wasn’t supposed to be like this. Why here? Of all the places I could run into her. Why did it have to be my first in home client. Fresh out of school, six years of my life gone into studying and preparing, and now the woman I had been waiting for was still out of my reach. Sure I could break protocol, at the risk of losing my job, but six years! That would be six years of my life down the drain.

{alt}

How badly I wanted to wrap her in my arms, when she her answered the door. Her adorable face smiling back at me. Just as beautiful as I remembered. I was literally speechless, then finally saying the only thing that came to my mind.

SSC181

“Uh…is this the Chiffon residence?” I desperately hoped it wasn’t. Then I would have had no worries while I pulled her into my arms. Unfortunately my suspicions were confirmed and it was indeed the correct house.

{alt}

When she lead me outside I wished I did not have such a stickler for a boss, unfortunately I did, so I stupidly acted as if I had no clue who she was.

SSC183

I felt my heart crumble, as I said those ugly words and watched the disappointment grow on her face. My heart was screaming at my head, and to think I was nervous about my first day at this job for totally different reasons. I watched her as she slinked up to her bedroom. I never felt so awful in my life.

{alt}

When ever I had the chance, I would go and watch her paint. She was quite an amazing artist. So elegant and graceful with her strokes.

{alt}

She was so beautifu-

SSC184.5

In a flash my daydream was interrupted by Orange. “She loves him. Did you know that Mr. Bear? Yup poor Saffron, her dream-lover was supposed to come and take her a way, but instead he acts as if they have never met.”

“What did you just say?”

“I wasn’t talking to you. I was talking to Mr. Bear.”

SSC185

She continued talking to Mr. Bear, but this time I listened a lot more carefully.

“I know I would be heartbroken if the man I loved acted as if he didn’t care. She then started singing “Dream-lover come rescue me.”

I gently grabbed her by the shoulders. “Orange how do you know about that?”

“You mean about you and Saffron?”

“Yes.”

“I have seen you two together. You guys are so sweet.”

She leaned down and with her finger she drew a small heart in the carpet. “That was my favorite part.”

I think my heart all but stopped. WHOA this was too creepy for words.

SSC187

“Such a shame.” She retorted, once again talking to Mr. Bear. “You can only hold on so long before you give up.”

I felt a sudden urge to run out the door, but I couldn’t leave Orange. She was the whole reason I was there. She was in my charge, my hands were tied.

“Perhaps it is a good thing I have that appointment today. It would possibly give someone a little time off. I wonder what he would do with all that time?”

I excused myself from the room to find Mrs. Chiffon. I explained that I had something quite pressing I needed to attend to and she assured me that she and Orange would be fine while I was away. In an odd way, I think she was more tuned into what was actually happening than she let on. I thanked her as I ran out the front door. Here I come beautiful, don’t give up just yet!

64 responses

  1. Such a lovely post. 🙂 Poor Glaze! Knowing he can’t do anything but wanting so badly to. At least now we know that he pushing Saffron away for a good reason.

    Definitely an interesting job for Saffron, too. She looks so beautiful in that hair and dress!

  2. Im so glad Saff has a job =)

    OMB, Celly Bitter. Hahaha. When Mint said ‘Bitter,that explains their Surname’ I was like :O

    Great chapter,i cant wait for the next one!

      • “You will have to excuse my niece, she is not the most patient person, she gets that from her mother I suppose. Shes actually more bitter than Celly if you can beleive that. Guess their surname fits them well… Oh dear, that was rude of me.”

        I caught that too! I bet she is Olive’s daughter ; )

  3. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! I knew it! Also I thought I recognised Celly’s colouring… Could her mother be our very own Olive Bitters? I thought the fact that Orange could see them together was an epic twist (see the crazy people are always the best ones, no?) and the bit with the heart “that was my favourite part” was so cute! Can’t wait for the next chapter but I have a feeling it’s not going to be all rosy straight away. FANTASTIC WRITING AS USUAL BERRY!

  4. OH MY GOSH! What a thrilling chapter Berry. Saffron looks so beautiful. Celly reminds me of Olive Bitters, but Olive had a boy no? I am pretty sure she had a boy. I just love you had Glaze’s Point of View it makes the story even more exciting to read. I just cannot wait for more. You are a VERY TALENTED Writer Berry. So NEVER EVER give up on writing, because you may have a future in writing.

  5. As soon as Celly started talking I thought, she looks and sounds like Olive. Such a great twist and I am so curious to find out more about those Bitters women. Meanwhile, I just don’t know what to think about Glaze and Saffron because I don’t want any heartbreak coming around!

  6. im uber curious to find out how Celly Bitters came to be! that means that miss Olive settled down with someone else.

    im so happy that he remembers who she is, just hope that he is not too late!

  7. Orange to the rescue ❤
    i thought that it was cool that Glaze knew what was going on in the dreams, but hadn't caught up in life yet, turns out he knew all along anyways.

  8. beautiful chapter, berry..i always get so excited when i see that youve added a new one ^_^ and this one was defiantly one of my favorites

  9. EE! I can’t wait until they talk! *jumps up and down* It is going to be so exciting to read! 😀

    But when I saw Celly…my mind started whirring around. She looks so much like our little Olive ‘Bitters’, doesn’t she? Hmmm…

  10. EEEEEEE! YAY! im so glad he knew who she was! but oh my what mean mean man for not letting her know. But i understand i guess. And wow is Celly bitter or what? wonder if her mama is Olive. I guess we will just have to wait and see.

  11. This was my favorite chapter yet…. i am sooo pleased Glaze loves her too!!! I wonder what he will say to her…

    On another note i loved your pictures in this chapter x

  12. Awwww such a wonderful chapter, I am so pleased that Glaze does know who she is and loves her too 🙂

    I had tears in my eyes while reading, Not that listening to westlife’s As Love Is My Witness helped lol.

    Can’t wait to see what happens next berry 🙂

  13. Ah I can’t wait to know what happens..

    I was sure that Celly was Olive again. More Bitters.. I think there are always Bitters in this world.

    Can’t wait to see what happens with Saffron and Glaze. I am also really interested in how Orange knew about all of this bc she was in the hospital for all these years.

    Hmmm..Questions questions..

    If you read my Berry Flowery A-Z legacy inspired by our very own Berry then I have a new chapter and a heir poll that’s waiting for someone to read and vote on. 😉

    Table of Contents

    K!!!

  14. 🙂 🙂 🙂 yay! i’m so glad that he remembers her! seriously, how can he forget such an adorable simmie?? 😉

    orange’s intuitions/premenitions/knowing the truth (lol whatever you may call it!) is intersting. she may have gone through some trumatic events in her life, but she still is looking out for her sister ❤

  15. AHH!! Finally I’m caught up! I’ve been gone for the whole summer and haven’t gotten to read any of your story for over a month and it was driving me INSANE!!! I had to start back where I left off (Gen. 3 chapter 6! sheesh) and it took me a few hours but now I’m caught up and HAPPYY!! 😀 I’m still lovin it! ❤

  16. ahhwwwwww…. and before something completely awful can happen something good has to, right? Or is that just my own rules? But I gotta say, in my opinion, Glaze has a lot of karma going against him. The little LIAR!

  17. Awesome chapter!! I love this legacy soooo much 🙂

    I’ve probably said this before, but you have influenced me to write my own legacies. And guess what?! I posted my very first intro to my very first legacy story tonight!! 🙂 Yay!

    It’s nice and short, for those of you that don’t want to take forever just to see if you like it, so please check it out!! 🙂

    Here’s the link:

    http://raspberry3.wordpress.com/2010/07/16/the-bliss-family-legacy-intro/

    Thanks!

  18. Lovely chapter, Berry, and those pictures really amazed me. How did you make those pictures? The colors are looking great. I love your writing too.
    Oh, he better ran fast! Can’t wait for the next update. Celly reminds me of Olive Bitters.

  19. I just read your whole legacy and I have to say it’s amazing! I’m a big fan of all your works actually. You have bunches and bunches of talent that I’d love to confiscate! But I won’t, I promise. Anyways, keep doing what you’re doing Berry!

  20. im believing that Celly is olives sister or something 😛
    ive been reading that part of and over again,and staring at celly’s picture. lol.

  21. OMB!!!
    Orange has dreams to! and their linked!
    do all 3 girls have this power?
    obviouslly this is a inherted trait.
    great work Berry!

  22. OMFB!!!!! I just know they are gonna get married and have lots of babies…. I am crying so hard right now!!! Best chapter you’ve ever made Berry!! BTW, can you put the household on the exchange? With all the CC and everything? Please?

  23. “I have seen you two together. You guys are so sweet.”

    She leaned down and with her finger she drew a small heart in the carpet. “That was my favorite part.”

    SO CUTE OMB ❤

  24. Note to self note to self; DO NOT read amazing addicting stories before work. I was on the verge of hitting next when I remembered I have to get ready for work. And now with only 15 minutes before I need to leave I wanna call in sick and just read…..

  25. I’m reading this story over again and listening to your 8-tracks at the same time. “Mellow Yellow” came on right as I started this chapter. I’d never realized that it said “I’m just mad about Saffron” before. So perfect for this generation! Love this story, Berry 🙂

Leave a comment