Prologue – Part 7

Chantilly Lace: I can see why the girls fall for you. You are very charming.

Merlot: Nah, I’m tone deaf and clumsy.

Chantilly Lace: I’ve never been serenaded before. What makes me so special?

Merlot: Everything.

Chantilly Lace: Can we stay like this?

Merlot: For as long as you like… well, until your mother breaks us apart. I feel like she would not appreciate me bein here.

Chantilly Lace: Let’s not think about that right now. We still have a few hours till sunrise.

Chantilly Lace: I had no idea dancing could be so nice.

Merlot: Me either.

Chantilly Lace: I’m sorry for all my squeaky voiced commentary. It must be annoying.

Merlot: Talk my ear off, please, and your voice is adorable.

Chantilly Lace: You think so? Mother says I need to work on my pitch. 

Merlot: Your mother has some ridiculous expectations and standards.

Chantilly Lace: Yes.*sigh* There I go talking about her again.

Merlot: It’s understandable. She’s pretty much your whole life.

Chantilly Lace: Rather depressing when you think about it.

Merlot: Then let’s not.

Chantilly Lace: Deal.

Chantilly Lace: You must be exhausted, staying up all night and then going to school.

Merlot: Huh? Nah, I’m used to it. *Yawn* But maybe I’ll close my eyes for a second.

Chantilly Lace: Just rest, okay? I’ll be here when you wake up.

Merlot: A wonderful thought, for sure.

Chantilly Lace: Hey Merlot?

Merlot: Hmmm?

Chantilly Lace: What are your dreams?

Merlot: My dreams?

Chantilly Lace: Like, what are your aspirations in life? Where do you see yourself in 10-15 years.

Merlot: Oh, I haven’t really given much thought to all that yet… I guess I see myself getting into a good college. Landing a well paying job so I can take care of my aunt. She has given me everything. I feel she kind of deserves that. Other than that, I guess I prefer not knowing the future, you know? What about you?

Chantilly Lace: Me? No, it’s silly…

Merlot: Tell me.

Chantilly Lace: No. You’ll laugh.

Merlot: I won’t. I swear.

Chatilly Lace: You promise?

Merlot: I promise.

Chantilly Lace: Alright. Since I was really little, I have always wanted a big family. Lot’s of kids running around.

Merlot: I think a lot of people have similar aspirations.

Chantilly Lace: Maybe, but from the time I could talk, I have dreamt about being a mom. I took better care of my dolls than I did myself. It sounds weird, but it feels like it was one of the things I am meant to do in this life.

Merlot: It doesn’t sound weird at all.

Chantilly Lace: It’s almost sunrise.

Merlot: Yeah…

Chantilly Lace: I’m starting to dread the day time.

Merlot: How can you not, when the night seems made for us.

Chantilly Lace: I think I miss you a little more each time you go.

Merlot: I know the feeling. I spent half my day thinking about you.

Chantilly Lace: Me too… Will I see you again?

Merlot: Nothing could keep me away.

Merlot: But before I go.

Chantilly Lace: Ahh, no! Merlot! Eep! Lacey, shush. Hahaha *muffled giggles*

Each dawn he goes away. 

Each time I feel the unbearable loneliness of the life I lead.

Leave a comment